Prelude to A Cookie

February 1, 2008 at 4:24 pm 12 comments

p2010015.jpg

As America eagerly anticipates the Patriots’ win on Sunday and some nervously await Super Tuesday’s results (did anyone know John McCain’s name was dropped as a running mate for John Kerry?!), I choose to divert my attention to the upcoming cookie season. Edy’s, those geniuses, drum up appetites for Girl Scout cookies with their exclusive cookie flavor ice creams two months before the Brownies actually deliver them to your door. (According to my cookie liaison, cookies are to arrive to the troops by February 25).

The Thin Mint ice cream is delectable, thin shavings of the cookies perfectly distributed throughout the creamy mint chocolate base. Do not even waste your time with the Samoas flavor–it stands in drastic need of about three times the amount of cookie chunks and much more caramel.

On a cookie-related note, is there any disagreement that the top three cookie flavors are, in this very particular order:

  1. Samoas
  2. Thin Mints
  3. Tagalongs

And while some complain that Girl Scout cookies still have trans-fats, there are ways to make your own.

Entry filed under: Fine Food, JL's Posts. Tags: , .

Scoop: J-Lo Giving Birth The Lamentations of Lowry – Chapter 3

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jana  |  February 1, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    I can vouch for the ice cream. It is delicious. Last year they also had a slow churned lighter version. Also delicious.

    I love cookie time, even though they’ve changed the names of the cookies. Samoas are now a more PC Caramel deLite, and Tagalongs are Peanut Butter Patties. Last year they also had a low fat apple cinnamon cookie that was tasty.

    All I know is, no matter the name, I eat more than a should.

    Reply
  • 2. lemare  |  February 2, 2008 at 1:33 am

    I actually liked the samoas flavor, but yes, it needed at LEAST three times more cookie chunks.

    I just placed my order and the scouts will have them to me by Feb 29th. With shame, I wrote my administrative assistant, and offered to “support her niece” by purchasing 3 samoas, 2 tagalongs, 1 thin mint, and one do-si-dos.

    I shouldn’t be allowed out in public.

    Reply
  • 3. Jdon  |  February 2, 2008 at 4:10 am

    Totally disagree with your rankings.

    1)Thin Mints (Far and away the best cookie on the menu)
    2) Trefoils (The shortbread ones)
    3) Samoas (Shouldn’t they be calling these suckers Pacific Islanders by now?)

    Reply
  • 4. lemare  |  February 2, 2008 at 5:40 am

    TREFOILS??? Joe Miller.

    I vote Samoa because no one can make a reasonable facsimile. With Thin Mints, at least there are grasshoppers to eat year round.

    Reply
  • 5. Sportsattitude  |  February 2, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    I don’t want to appear on the fence about Girl Scouts cookie time so here goes…I absolutely loathe the fact every time I go to a convenience store, a grocery store, a mall, etc. I have to face off against a gaggle of parents and children all trying to make me fat. I don’t care if it’s reduced fat, low-fat, no-fat, diabetic…it’s a cookie. If I want a cookie, I know where to get them. I am reminded of an “Everybody Loves Raymond” episode where Ray faces off against his neighbor Peggy over the right to hawk their Girl Scout cookies on the best spot in town. I am as anti-Girl Scout cookie as can be.

    My favorite is the Thin Mints.

    Reply
  • 6. lemare  |  February 2, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Sports – Thank goodness you weighed in! I was about to fear you were apathetic to the ways of the scouts.

    JL’s sister (my college roommie) and I used to make a tremendous cake. It involved chocolate cake mix (half a mix in a 9×13). Cover it with peppermint icecream. Make whipped cream with a smidge of peppermint extract, and crumble thin mints on top.

    Thank me later.

    Reply
  • 7. JL  |  February 2, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Joe Miller, I never saw that coming either. Trefoils? In the top three? Unthinkable.

    LeMare, didn’t you and The Train call that “The Boom Cake?” Fond memories of that concoction.

    Sports, the grocery store curb manipulation is quite annoying. It always works to say, “I just bought 10 boxes from my little niece. So sorry. Next year!”

    Reply
  • 8. RPK  |  February 3, 2008 at 1:44 am

    That ice cream sounds amazing. Finally, a flavor I can not only enjoy eating but believe in. Even still, I’ve been holding out for years now, waiting for someone to produce a good-tasting Ritz-Cracker-flavored ice cream. …this will have to tide me over. Mmmm mmmm!

    Reply
  • 9. lowdogg  |  February 4, 2008 at 9:50 am

    All about Thin Mints for me.

    That is all.

    Reply
  • 10. critts  |  February 4, 2008 at 11:31 am

    I’m embaressed to admit I’ve never tried those flavors LeMare! However, I do enjoy the cookies in the order you listed so I assume my ice cream likings would be the same.

    And I totally agree with Sportsattitude – I can’t stand being accosted every time I walk into the grocery store.

    Reply
  • 11. Pammy Girl  |  February 4, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    When I was a Girl Scout, they called Samoas “Caramel Delights” which is by far the more PC name. None of my friends from Samoa ever baked or served anything remotely like those cookies. They also only cost $1.25 a box. I like the “All Abouts” as they are a short bread with one side dipped in chocolate. Whatever happened to the lemon-flavored sandwiches?

    Thin mints must be frozen and can be dipped in peanut butter. Samoas can also be frozen. As far as ice cream flavors with chunky stuff in them? I have to stick with Ben & Jerry.

    Reply
  • 12. Kirsten  |  February 6, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    do you remember watching me down half a gallon of this tasty treat? it was almost as good as the two fudge sundaes we got sick off of.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 267,487 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

