Confessions of a Single-digiter

April 11, 2007 at 11:23 pm 3 comments

Allow me to introduce myself.  Depending on who you are, I’m a different person… at Star of Siam I’m “Miss Meeshell”, at Karen Nail, I’m “You want fill?”,  to JL, I’m “Sweet Fonzlett”, on this blog, I’m “LeMare”, but in my building, I learned very quickly, that I am simply a “Single-Digiter.”

It was a late evening soon after moving into my highrise apartment in Chicago.  I stepped onto the elevator and the woman heading for the 26th floor asked where I was going, I said, “Eight, please”.  I’ll never forget her condescending remark, “Oh, you’re one of the Single-Digiters.”  I didn’t think that blatant prejudice like this still existed since the civil rights movement, but let me tell you, the caste system is alive and well in high-rise living.

It’s important to the story that you know that “Floor 1” is actually the fourth story, since there are three floors of ammenities before we get to residences.  So techincally, I’m on the 11th story, firmly into the double digits.  This knowledge, however, benefits me and me alone.  It does not spare me of the prejudicial thoughts of everyone whose elevator button has multiple digits. 

 I refuse to let their ignorance get me down, though.  They may think that I am less of a person because I am a single-digiter, but I know, as now all of you do, that I really live on the 11th. 

Entry filed under: Commentary, LeMare's Posts.

What would be the harm? Mount Vernon Mystery Revealed

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JL  |  April 12, 2007 at 9:50 am

    How you must hang your head in shame when you stoop to press the 8th floor button. To be fair, you should point out the 11th floor technicality issue to your double-digit neighbors on the way up the elevator.

    Reply
  • 2. Jdon  |  April 12, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    I will be hosting a march for single-digiters on April 27th in front of your building. I have petitioned Congress to set aside the last week in April as Single Digiter Day. Please join in my crusade.

    Reply
  • 3. Lindsay  |  April 12, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    I’m wondering why the ACLU hasn’t taken up your cause. Where is Jesse? Where is Al? Too bad there isn’t a racial issue involved. Who fights for the highrise caste system?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
S M T W T F S
    May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,397 hits

