Movie Review: Waiting For Guffman

April 12, 2007 at 11:15 pm 19 comments

Somebody had to do it. Someone had to pay homage and pay it fast. Waiting for Guffman is the glue that brought us together and if it weren’t for Christopher Guest, it is more than possible that this blog wouldn’t exist today.

Waiting For Guffman

It is not very often that comedic genius such as that of Lord Guest comes along, and sadly it is not every person who has the intellectual capacity to grasp the brilliance. I can honestly say that my life changed for the better the day Jonathan Friedman brought that movie into my home.

The mockumentary is in the same vein as his earlier piece, “This Is Spinal Tap” and while every gem to come forth out of this man is priceless, I still think that Guffman is the flagship of the collection. His later films, Best In Show, A Mighty Wind, and For Your Consideration are also worth watching. Let’s be honest–this genre is meant to get funnier and funnier with every viewing.

Guffman got under my skin, as well as the other proprietors of this blog. It became the language of our relationships. The quotations are so applicable in every day life.

For instance, at what point COULDN’T you say the following:

“It’s a zen thing… like how many babies can you fit in a tire?  You know, that old joke.”

“I was fresh off a destroyer with nothing to my name but a dance belt and a tube of chapstick”

“Is it karma? Maybe. But we found him… And I got Bonnie a wonderful pantsuit.”

And what about the lyrics to the song (every epic film has a a great soundtrack). What isn’t to love about lyrics like these: “Hock your jewels, use your money for stools!”

When you view this film, please prepare ahead of time because your menu really should be thematic. Have the following items ready to consume at specific times during the film: Pigs in a Blanket. Cokes. DQ sundaes. These are all a must. If you can get your hands on a ashy chicken wing or some chinese food, you will still be on target.

The most important thing when watching this largely improvised film, is to know that you need to watch it with sardonically irreverent friends. And you need to watch it again and again. And you need to quote it to each other whenever possible. Much like I did to JL and JDon today when I told him I wanted this to be a “glossy, sweet-smelling” blog.

5 Stars.

Entry filed under: Film, Fond Memories, LeMare's Posts, Waiting for Guffman.

Mount Vernon Mystery Revealed Hey Morons – Free Ipod – Read Below!

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JL  |  April 13, 2007 at 9:22 am

    Working, playing, never stopping, never sleeping!

    I wonder who knew I was staying at The Oasis?

    But there’s no swimmin’ in my show!

    I certainly know how the Kennedys must feel.

    I’m gotta make a clean cut here and say no way Corky. And I’ll tell you why. Because you’re…

    Indeed, the Fonz, a life changing movie. Also, if you’re having a Guffman themed party you must have an intermission where you can do Corky dance moves.

    Reply
  • 2. Jen Jacobson  |  April 13, 2007 at 11:13 am

    One more, just for fun:

    “So that’s the way it’s gonna be? Well then I HATE you and your a**-face!”

    Reply
  • 3. Jdon  |  April 13, 2007 at 11:40 am

    “What the city council did was really… give me a challenge, and it’s a challenge that I am going to accept. It’s like in the olden days, in the days of France, when men would slap each other with their gloves and say, y’know…”D’Artagnan!”… y’know, “how dare you talk to me like that, you!,” and smack ’em.

    Sorry, I had to add one more

    Reply
  • 4. lemare  |  April 13, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    “you know, kids just hate eating lunch at school, but they’re a whole lot happier if they’ve got a “Remains of the Day” lunchbox.”

    Reply
  • 5. Joe Lowry  |  April 13, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Ow are ou? I’m Enry Iggins.

    Reply
  • 6. Myrt  |  April 13, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    “Boy, I didn’t know deers could… could do that, you know?”

    (Where else could I start, really?)

    Reply
  • 7. Myrt  |  April 13, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    (Now that you’ve got me started…)

    “Every Sunday about the time I was taken on board, I find I have no feelings in my buttocks.”

    Reply
  • 8. JL  |  April 13, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    Guffman is to our generation as The Sound of Music was to our forefathers, particularly Father LeMare. He told me he once broke up with a girl in college because she didn’t like SOM.

    Reply
  • 9. lemare  |  April 13, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    Believe me, Guffman is just as high on my list as Sound of Music is to Father LeMare. If someone doesn’t like the film, I know we have absolutely NOTHING in common.

    It’s time for another quote:

    “I wanted the audience to feel the heat from the fire, the fear, because people don’t like fire, poked, poked in their noses… you know when you get a cinder from a barbeque right on the end of your nose and you kind of make that face, you know, that’s not a good thing”

    Reply
  • 10. Movie Review: Blades of Glory « In Rare Form  |  April 15, 2007 at 11:43 am

    […] I typically like to WORK for my humor, to have it require above average intelligence (ie. Waiting for Guffman).  Typically I scoff at movies that even dumb people would […]

    Reply
  • 11. jdon  |  April 15, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Just two more for old times sake:
    “And here we have the Remains of the Day lunchbox. Kids dont like eating at school, but if they have a remains of the day lunchbox they’re much happier”

    “People say, ‘You must have been the class clown.’ And I say, No, I wasn’t. But I sat next to the class clown, and I studied him.”

    Reply
  • 12. lemare  |  April 16, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    “No way, Corky, you’re not gonna put up with these people”, and I’ll tell you why I can’t put up with you people. Because you’re bastard people, you’re just bastard people!”

    Reply
  • 13. TRussell  |  April 16, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    What amazes me most in the film is how the meteorlogist was able to predict the weather within the alien landing zone with such Blane-type precision; how did he know the weather forecast would always include a 40% chance of rain? I don’t know, but when I find out, I’m sure it will be nothing short to the feeling you get when they rip the wax off your legs. Otherwise, I might just go home and bite my pillow!

    Reply
  • 14. jdon  |  April 16, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    Just one more for now. “There’s a saying in Missouri, if you don’t like the weather just wait five minutes. In Blaine, with hard work, I think we can get that down to three or four minutes.”

    Reply
  • 15. Harriet Carter: Volume I « In Rare Form  |  April 19, 2007 at 1:33 am

    […] concrete, immovable institutions.  In addition to our mutual affinity of Supply-side economics, Waiting for Guffman, Krispy Kreme, and Miller Mondays, the very foundation remains:  Harriet […]

    Reply
  • 16. Tagged by Stephanie « In Rare Form  |  August 26, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    […] I can watch over and over: 1. Waiting for Guffman 2. Royal Tenenbaums 3. Pride & Prejudice 4. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off 5. Tommy […]

    Reply
  • 17. IRF Weekly Wrap-up « In Rare Form  |  September 22, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    […] “But I sat NEXT to the class clown, and I studied him.”  If you haven’t seen Waiting For Guffman after reading IRF all these months, shame on […]

    Reply
  • […] and IRF’s collective favorite film, the great unifier that brought us all together, Waiting for Guffman.  These movies aren’t for everyone, as the humor is dry, and well, smart.  Joe Miller […]

    Reply
  • 19. dreaa  |  July 22, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    i need help finding a scene from waiting for guffman. I really enjoyed the movie and i want to reenact it. so if anyone has sites that can help me please post them ull be a life savor

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
S M T W T F S
    May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,388 hits

