Death and Taxes

April 16, 2007 at 3:19 pm 6 comments

Stranger Than Fiction arrived this weekend through Netflix and it was such appropriate timing, what with the April 17 deadline nearing.

stranger.jpg

In the film, Will Ferrell works for the IRS and the novel being written about him is entitled, “Death and Taxes.”

Apart from making me dread writing the annual check to the United States Treasury, it did inspire an appetite for chocolate chip and heart-shaped Bavarian sugar cookies and make me want to elect a fiscal conservative in 2008. Someone who says things like this:

“I said no to a tax hike; raising taxes hurts working people and scares away jobs. I also said no to more borrowing; borrowing just shifts our problems to the backs of our kids . . . Instead, I went after waste, inefficiency, duplication, and patronage.” –Governor Romney
(Boston Globe, October 24, 2005)

That’s what I like to hear…

-JL

Entry filed under: Film, JL's Posts, Mitt Romney, Politics, Random.

Miller Monday – Week 1 – The source of all my problems. Take it ALL off…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  April 16, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    Bravo, Mitt. Bravo. Get in the people who will make that April 15th IRS check less painful. Get in the people who will let me keep my own darn money. I work hard at that mental hospital. I want to keep my check!

    Reply
  • 2. Joe Lowry  |  April 16, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    I want a consumption tax and no other taxes. The Wall Street Journal has a nice article by Ari Fleischer about who really pays taxes.

    Reply
  • 3. jdon  |  April 16, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    I think taxes should be available to anyone who wants to pay them. But for those of us who want plasma screen televisions, fuhgetaboutit.

    Reply
  • 4. lemare  |  April 16, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    “This is the issue of this election: Whether we believe in our capacity for self-government or whether we abandon the American Revolution and confess that a little intellectual elite in a far-distant capital can plan our lives for us better than we can plan them ourselves.”
    -Ronald Reagan, 1964

    (I think Dutch would be supporting Romney if he were here today).

    Reply
  • 5. liz stanley  |  April 18, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    that’s funny, stranger than fiction came to us yesterday through netflix as well and jared and i watched it last night. i was thinking today about keeping track of ‘tragedy’ or ‘comedy’ clues during my daily routine in a little notebook. that was one of my favorite parts.

    Reply
  • 6. lemare  |  April 18, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    OK, JL and Liz. You’ve talked me into it. I’m adding Stranger than Fiction to my Netflix Queue.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
S M T W T F S
    May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,970 hits

