Etiquette Epiphany: Coat Checks

April 22, 2007 at 1:55 pm 4 comments

In my leisurely weekend perusal of Judith Martin’s masterpiece:  “Miss Manners’ Guide to Excruciatingly Correct Behavior“.  If you don’t have it handy on your end table, like I do, I suggest you stay tuned for future Etiquette Epiphany posts because her advice is not only based on proper protocol, but it is also worded in a witty manner.

 The most recent blunder that I realized I have been making, willy-nilly, is to check my coat at restaurants, thinking that I was adhering to proper protocol!  I’m disgusted to think of all the cold winter nights I could have eaten out, not knowing this rule.  Miss Manners exposes the truth:

“It is true that the old-fashioned rule is that a lady does not check her coat… The coat is gently peeled back from the shoulders and hangs nonchalantly over the back of the chair.”

I have been a fool for too long.  NO MORE!  To think, every time I kept my coat was because I had no cash to tip the host, and thought that I was being tacky by keeping my coat “nonchalantly over the back of the chair.”  NEVER AGAIN!  From now on, I will cast all sheepishness to the wind drape my coat with confidence, knowing that a lady does not check her coat!

Entry filed under: LeMare's Posts, Manners and Grammar.

The Making of Manny Miller Monday – Week 2 – Nightmare on Lost Trail Drive

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  April 22, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    It seems that your investment in that book was a wise one–it will save you countless tip dollars. I love it when the cheap thing is the right thing!

    Reply
  • 2. Ricardo  |  April 22, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    Lindsay – Are you a Cardall?

    Reply
  • 3. Joe Lowry  |  April 23, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Fascinating. I never knew, and my mother used to (and still sometimes does) teach the YM/YW etiquette.

    Reply
  • 4. Lindsay  |  April 26, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Yes, Ricardo, I am a Cardall. True Blue, through and through. Which also means I would rather willingly give a tip to a poor coat checker than have the government rip they money out of my paycheck to give to some lazy a$$ who doesn’t want to go work as a coatchecker.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
S M T W T F S
    May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,970 hits

