Miller Monday – Week 3 – Best Show Ever!

April 30, 2007 at 12:39 pm 3 comments

There is no doubt in my mind that American Idol is the best show ever.  You may disagree with me.  But you would be wrong.  American Idol is amazing.  Even though I have stopped watching the show following the fall of the great Sanjaya, I have not lost one ounce of respect for the creators, producers, and stars of the best darn show I have ever seen.

 

For those of you who may not know me very well, I am a music enthusiast.  I own a large music collection.  I play both guitar and bass.  Some people even would go so far as to suggest that “I rock.”  I guess that is why everyone is shocked when I tell them that I love American Idol.  Immediately people think that I am on the “Vote for the Worst” bandwagon, which I obviously am not.  I think it is foolhardy at best to assume that Howard Stern and a bunch of haters could possibly take down the most popular show in television history.  No, my love of American Idol runs deep.  Real deep.

 

I guess I love the show because I have never seen such mediocre talent plastered before my eyes every single week.  Sure, there are the Melinda Doolittles of the competition, but who gives a rip about her.  She is obviously going to win and blah, blah, blah.  Who really cares?  I will never buy a Melinda Doolittle album.  But to see someone like Phil Stacey, or Bucky Covington, or Nikki McKibbin go down singing some terrible rendition of a Rod Stewart classic in front of MILLLIONS is so friggin funny that I can hardly contain myself.  What keeps me watching is that despite the fact that every season there is an obvious winner (Fantasia, Carrie Underwood, and Melinda Doolittle) the bulk of contestants actually think they can win.  This is priceless.  I love to see someone get up there and try to ‘bring it.’  It reminds me of the time that my little sister was in the Sunshine Generation song and dance troop and some sassy little 4 year old would steal the show with her rendition of Gloria Estefan’s version of Conga.  And yes, I am talking about you Jordin Sparks. 

The truth is that those who don’t appreciate Idol simply don’t get it, the same way that some people don’t get Waiting For Guffman.  Sure, there are those feel-gooders out there that watch the show for its ‘star power’ or because the think that Ryan Seacrest is actually talented, or because they actually like one of the contestants.  Heaven Forbid.  But the rest of us realize that for every one person who succeeds on idol there are thousands that get sent home.  And everyone of those losers is actually wondering why.  That is what makes Idol amazing; watching the truly talented perform on the same stage as the truly talentless. 

It is my prayer that American Idol last forever.

 

Yours truly,

Joe Miller

Entry filed under: Miller Monday, Television.

I do it all for the children Guest Post: Confessions of a 19-Year Old Barry Manilow Fan

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TRussell  |  April 30, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    I think the best Idol moment of all time was when Catherine MePhee sang a whole song on her knees and it made her father cry and Simon declare it the best performance ever. Did I miss something?

    When was the last time a true rock star did a song on their knees? I do recall when the lead singer of T-Rex did one sitting down indian style. But that was during a solo while the rest of his band was backstage getting plastered.

    Reply
  • 2. lemare  |  April 30, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    Is it possible to talk about rockers without referencing “This Is Spinal Tap”? What about lyrical gems such as this:

    Big bottom, big bottom
    Talk about mud flaps, my girl’s got ’em

    Reply
  • 3. JL  |  April 30, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    I’m with you on this one Jdon. The concept and pizazz of American Idol are both genius, oft imitated, but never beaten. I hope we have many years to come of Simon’s cutting remarks. A favorite was when he told Haley Scarnato that her tactic of wearing less and less each week would never hide the fact she wasn’t talented.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
S M T W T F S
    May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,693 hits

