The Bridesmaid Contract

May 16, 2007 at 4:44 pm 12 comments

My dear friend Christina sent me the best Word attachment of all time– a real life bridesmaid contract that arrived in her inbox from a friend of a friend of a friend of a coworker of a friend of a bride. This contract was sent in all seriousness and the bride requested that her bridesmaids fax or return their signed copy immediately. Here it goes verbatim (bride’s first name and wedding date have been changed to protect the innocent):

bridesmaid_girls.jpg

*Bridesmaid’s Contract*

Hello my beautiful bridesmaids! Let me just say again how happy I am that you are going to be a part of my special day! Below are just a few guidelines for the wedding that I’d like you to review, please initial by each point, sign at the end and send back to me. Just want to make sure they’re aren’t any surprises! The planning bride is a happy bride!

Thanks a bunch! Love ya!

-Abby

______ My hair will remain at the length it is now or longer.

______ I will not change my hair color without first consulting Abby and providing a sample photo or hair swatch for consideration.

______ I will use Sally Hansen’s “Maximum Growth-Daily Nail Growth program” every day for the 4 months before the wedding day.

______ I will not gain more than 4lbs from the weight I was when I was asked to be a bridesmaid.

______ I swear to attend all showers, (lingerie, bridal & bachelorette) to arrive in a timely manner and do everything in my power to support and “be there” for the bride.

______ I will purchase the David’s Bridal style # 81123 dress below in Latte/Champagne within 3 weeks of today.

______ I will NOT knowingly get pregnant without notifying Abby at least 4 months prior to the wedding so a suitable alternate can be found. I will also give my purchased bridesmaid dress to said alternate.

I do hereby swear that I will adhere to all of the above & other understood bridesmaid duties for the wedding on October 10, 2007

X_________________________

(sign, print and date)

Entry filed under: JL's Posts, Living History, Random.

Revolving Door Etiquette King of Night Vision, King of Insight

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. liz stanley  |  May 16, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    as much as i want to think this is a joke, there are so many girls (especially out east) that i know would really hold their bridesmaids to this. talk about bridezilla…..

    Reply
    • 2. Zowie  |  December 29, 2009 at 12:56 pm

      @Liz — It’s a joke. Any Bride can take a step back and see that they make themselves the complete center of the universe on their special day, and the bridesmaid contract is just the way to make fun of that.

      I personally think it’s hilarious and love that you can make one instantly over at BridesMaidContract.com

      Reply
  • 3. Lowdogg  |  May 17, 2007 at 8:20 am

    I can’t believe this. I think something like this should cause the invisible friend contract to become null and void.

    Reply
  • 4. Jen  |  May 17, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    I forwarded this to timmy’s little sis who is engaged, who no doubt will be grateful not to have to write her own 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Lindsay  |  May 22, 2007 at 9:44 am

    Ah, what a gift for all the “queens for a day.” Is there anything more annoying on earth than a bride who thinks the earth, hair, nails, and pregnancies revolve around her?

    Reply
  • 6. JL  |  May 31, 2007 at 11:00 am

    LeMare did some sleuthing and discovered that the writer of the contract (real name Katie Masters) did intend it to be a joke after all. Full story here. I think it’s an elaborate cover, “bridesmaid” t-shirts and all…

    Reply
  • 7. lemare  |  May 31, 2007 at 11:07 am

    The fuscia bridesmaid t-shirts are an abomination.

    I think the “it was all a joke” excuse is very convenient…

    Reply
  • 8. mary  |  July 7, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    it was a frickin’ joke. it got forwarded from one of the bridesmaids, to husband, to friend and so on. just go to people.com and look at the real life wedding

    Reply
  • 9. lemare  |  July 10, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    mary. first off, this is old news as it was posted 2 months ago. secondly, if you read the comments, we discussed the prospects for it being a joke. i think it was and it wasn’t. i think it wasnt because the email WAS actually forwarded to me and she had forwarded it on to one of the girls after and said, ps, the last item about getting pregnant obviously doesn’t apply to you.

    she meant it and just tried to do it in a tongue and cheek manner.

    Reply
  • 10. Carrie  |  September 18, 2007 at 3:54 am

    Found this site where Brides can make their own Bridesmaid Contract. Looks like you just add your own name and the date of your wedding.

    Bridesmaid Contract

    Reply
  • 11. Brandi  |  April 15, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Joke or no joke…it is the most stupid thing ever. I live in a small town and don’t know of anyone who has ever done that. It is so rude and if I were to ever get one…I would back out of the wedding. I mean getting pregnant is a good thing, changing your hair-your business, etc.

    Reply
  • 12. Zee  |  January 8, 2009 at 2:37 am

    Even though this is a good natured joke there are some women who want to dominate every detail of your appearance for their wedding day. The day a friend asks me to stuff my bra, not get pregnant, do weigh ins or not eat during HER social functions I will call it quits. Some brides to be have really gone too far with what they demand of their friends for this one day. I have my own life to live. I am not going to try NOT to get pregnant just to be in your wedding. I will be plump and round and sit in a chair and still cheer you on as you exchange vows. Sheeesh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,693 hits

