King of Night Vision, King of Insight

May 18, 2007 at 11:29 pm 4 comments

galileoGentle readers,

Let me first express my gratitude to the blog masters for not only inviting me to contribute to this venerable forum, but for awarding me my own feature. I shall forever strive to earn the honor already bestowed upon me.

I was trolling around in the electronic archives of The Onion this week and stumbled upon the following headline:

Giant Cockroach In Bathroom ‘A Harrowing, Kafkaesque Experience,’ Grad Student Says

Pure brilliance. After falling on the floor with laughter, I was finally able to collect myself and read further. The article details the encounter of “poverty-stricken Columbia University graduate student Marc Edelstein” with a giant cockroach in his bathroom, inevitably leading him down a long path of convoluted ruminations on the human condition. The fictitious Edelstein continues:

“Every day, I can’t believe I am living in that apartment. The humiliations society forces me to undergo, just to get my stupid PhD, defy all rational, intellectual thought. Sometimes, when I wake up in the morning and see the squalor in which I live, it feels as if I’ve somehow found myself on trial before a group of faceless, bureaucratic agents for some horrible crime I didn’t commit, and no one will even explain to me what my crime was.”

Truer words were never spoken. Staring down the barrel of my own fast-approaching PhD exams this fall, I was led to reflect on the traumas that I have personally suffered at the hands of my own professors. Forget Guantanamo. You want torture? Enroll those guys in an Ivy League graduate program. You won’t be able to stop them confessing.

For your enjoyment, the following recovered repressed memory:

N.B.: All names have been changed to protect and preserve the anonymity of the innocent (read: me).
 

In the course of my graduate career, I was asked by one of my professors if I would make an early-morning trip to a coffee shop45 minutes away — the next day to pick up a guest lecturer (let’s call him Dwight K. Schrute — sigh). Of course, this call came at ten o’clock the night before, and the round trip to the coffee shop meant that I would have to leave at six the next morning to get the speaker back to campus in time for his presentation at nine. Fine — even if I knew my professor would never give me the gas money he promised. Fine — even if I had watered his plants and picked up his mail and administered his 7 a.m. exams the previous summer. I had seen the fliers for the lecture and was interested in the topic (i.e., Galileo’s influence on religion in the Enlightenment). And I wanted my professor to stop “losing” chapters of my thesis. There had been, incidentally, two different kinds of posters made to advertise the lecture: the first consisted of a description of the lecture accompanied by a distinguished-looking portrait of the guest lecturer next to the mahogany (of course) shelves in his office; the second, more widely distributed flier was almost identical, but instead featured a portrait of Galileo. Back to the phone conversation:

Me: “Ok, so Dwight K. Schrute will be waiting for me at the coffee shop at 7:30.”

Professor: “That’s right. He’s a pretty tall guy. He’s got dark hair and wears dark-rimmed glasses…”

Me: “Oh, right. I saw the flier earlier today.”

Professor: Silence. For five seconds. “Ummm, that’s not Dwight K. Schrute…”

I soon realized that he had only seen the Galileo flier, and assumed that I thought that the portrait of Galileo was a picture of our speaker. Really? That’s not Dwight K. Schrute? Really? I was going to wander around the coffee shop until I found a guy in a ruffled lace collar and codpiece. I’m so glad you said something. Otherwise I would have wandered aimlessly for hours looking for a guy from Queene Elizabeth’s Royale Theatre Troupe

By the way, have you had a chance to look at those chapters yet?

Entry filed under: Phenix Friday.

The Bridesmaid Contract IRF Weekly Wrap-up

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lemare  |  May 19, 2007 at 8:21 am

    Glorious Phenix Friday! Hats off to you, Master P. Way to up the intellectual quotient of In Rare Form!

    PS – I am SO pleased that you made an allusion to Arrested Development as the programming basically defines who I am and what I stand for.

    Reply
  • 2. sfphenix  |  May 22, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    You do me too much honor, m’lady. And I’m so glad that you share my Arrested Development (RIP) obsession. AD is totally my litmus test to gauge coolness: like AD? Have a seat, my friend. Don’t like AD? Bother someone else with your irrelevance as a human being.

    Reply
  • 3. JL  |  May 22, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    Master P, welcome to the blogosphere. We have highly anticipated your triumphant entry to IRF. Here’s to many more Phenix Fridays.

    Speaking of one of the top television shows of all time, remember Mr. F in the last season? Brilliant.

    Reply
  • 4. lemare  |  May 22, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    Don’t worry, I already have a 3-part tribute in the planning stages. One for each season of glory. I’m really looking forward to the “research” stages (meaning rewatching the seasons with a pen in hand).

    If they ever did an AD movie, I would camp out like a Krispy Kreme opening in Orem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,918 hits

