The “I Miss Felicity and Ben at Dean and Deluca” Pie

May 31, 2007 at 11:31 am 12 comments

Every so often a magical gem of a movie comes across our path that is emblematic of the complexity of life and relationships without being patronizing to the viewer, unlike anything that Lifetime produces. Amid the glitzy blockbuster sequels that have ignited the summer box office, The Waitress coyly slides into theatres representing the anti-Pirates, Spiderman and Shrek.

The first thing the film has going for it is sweet Keri Russell–aka Felicity Porter to those of us who knew and loved her in her brief sojourn at University of New York.

Felicity Porter Rules the Day

Felicity, er, I mean Keri, is convincing and poignant in her role as Jenna, an unhappily married pregnant waitress and southern pie genius who falls in love with her OB GYN in the course of her regular prenatal visits. Her controlling, domineering dolt of a husband is verbally and emotionally abusive despite there being a bun in Jenna’s oven and she continually dreams of making a fresh start and leaving Earl for good.

While you almost root for Jenna and the kind doctor to work out, you are torn because Jenna is too big of a person for infidelity even if her husband is repressive. Besides, has a man ever been more suited for this heroine than Ben Covington?

Throughout this moral conflict, the story arc is punctuated with the creative names of pies that Jenna creates at the diner, such as “I Can’t Handle an Affair Because It’s Wrong and I Don’t Want Earl to Kill Me Pie.” (Fox Searchlight employees added some of their own life-inspired pie names on their site some of the best including: “Single Guy, 3 Cats, Lots of Explaining to Do Pie” and “I Wish Dessert Wasn’t Fattening Because I’m Bustin’ Out of My Pants Pie.”

pie.jpg

Jenna narrates the story of her pregnancy with letters to her unborn baby, rather than spilling her heart out on a tape cassette to Sally, which gives us a peek at the bleak state she’s reached in her life. Despite the grim reality she faces throughout the movie, there is plenty of humor, quirky supporting characters (even a suitor who specializes in “spontaneous poetry”), lovely set colors and plenty of pie. The movie is nothing if not a feel-good show and the surprising finale ensures the happiness of Jenna and her baby, even though it’s a rocky path getting there. You leave the theatre with a bit of a southern twang and an extra spring in your step. Now tell me that Pirates will do that for you.

Entry filed under: Film, Fine Food, Fond Memories, JL's Posts, Pop Culture.

Guest Post: Family Fun Day The Unexpected Good Experience

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lemare  |  May 31, 2007 at 11:55 am

    After reading this, as well as Eric Snider’s rave (http://www.ericdsnider.com/blog/2007/05/11/friday-movie-roundup-may-11/), I officially have “Waitress” on my list of movies to see.

    I saw Pirates. I squirmed like a 4 year old in my seat. I wasn’t built for movies longer than 2 hours.

    Reply
  • 2. Nicole  |  May 31, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    I can’t wait to see Felicity’s triumph on the big screen! Pirates and Spidey can kiss it for all I care. I saw them both and they each were just as dreadful as their previous sequals.

    Reply
  • 3. Katie  |  May 31, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    I loved Waitress so much!!!! I have now seen it 3 times, I want to go again tonight, I don’t know if I can stop myself!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. lemare  |  June 1, 2007 at 11:17 am

    I’m currently listening to the Felicity Soundtrack in honor of this development.

    Yes, I own the soundtrack. And no, I won’t apologize for it.

    Reply
  • 5. jdon  |  June 1, 2007 at 11:32 am

    I must inquire before I dare try to find this movie. Is this a movie for both sexes, or is this this type of film that my wife would adore while I snooze? I only ask because all comments up to this point have been made by females?
    By the way, I thought Pirates was killer (except for Orlando Bloom who is an obvious homo).

    Reply
  • 6. JL  |  June 1, 2007 at 11:58 am

    Jdon, this movie would tickle the fancy of both sexes. It’s never sappy, trite or cliched, the acting is good (plus Andy Griffith has a good sized role), and it’s funny. Based on the story line alone, my DH has ruled it out, along with watching Music and Lyrics this weekend from Netflix, but there’s always the hope that he’ll cave and watch what I think is the best movie so far this year.

    And LeMare, thank you for your honesty. I too, own the “Senior Year” soundtrack. Makes me miss all of those tense, whispered arguments between Ben and Felicity.

    Reply
  • 7. Beth  |  June 1, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    I loved this post! I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go see the movie or not, but I think I’ve been convinced. Oh and don’t worry, I own both Felicity soundtracks! I miss that show.

    Reply
  • 8. jdon  |  June 1, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Am I the only man that reads this blog?

    Reply
  • 9. Mike L  |  June 1, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    Jdon, I read it too. You are not alone. Although, sometimes I don’t read it. On those occasions you are alone.

    Reply
  • 10. Jdon  |  June 1, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    Mike L, thanks for the backup. I was starting to question my masculinity for a second there. This blog needs a few more male contributors.

    Reply
  • 11. lemare  |  June 1, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    You forget about Lowdogg and T. Russell?

    Reply
  • 12. Guest Post: Oh, Sick « In Rare Form  |  July 19, 2007 at 10:25 am

    […] a few of us headed to the local cinema to catch a flick that was covered on this very blog: The Waitress. Unfortunately, we were at one of those non-artsy cinemas, where such films are not shown. My […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,397 hits

