Weight Ain’t Nothing but a Number

June 4, 2007 at 4:04 pm 8 comments

Currently I am visiting my sister and her five children in the great state of Wisconsin. Great is usually a word not associated with Wisconsin. All Wisconsin is usually linked with is beer, cheese, brats, football, and fatties. And let me tell you it lives up to all of the above! Now I have to admit that when I was younger I was quite the little porker. I had enough fat to go around for all my fellow class mates, but then puberty came and I grew 6 inches and all of a sudden it was c’est la vie to that awkward stage in life. After a couple of years went by and I finally came to the realization that I was no longer an awkward, chubby tomboy I unfortunately joined in with the mainstream opinion of seeing “a little extra meat” as a bad thing. When I got to college things got better, seeing as how we were freshmen at BYU and gaining weight was only normal, but still there was a stigma associated with it in my mind. I was never too particularly concerned with myself. I went to the gym about 4 times a week and I was sorta health conscious so I figured I was taken care of. But it was more of my fellow students who would linger in the back of my mind. Every time I ate at the dining hall and saw a girl or guy who were a little on the heavier side standing at the desert table the words “Are you sure you really wanna do that?” would always go through my mind. I never audibly said anything but I would think it, which is just as bad.

Coming toWisconsin I’ve been astounded with what I’ve seen. I am a frequent drive through patron at Mc Donald’s, because I truly believe that no other fast food chain in America has a better diet coke mix than they do. So it would be safe to say that you can see me drive through there at least twice a day. I noticed, being the frugal, savvy patron that I am, that in the long run I would be saving money if I got the extra large size instead of just a medium of large because they now have an 89 cent deal going on all summer. Now seeing as how I’m ordering diet coke this isn’t a problem where weight is concerned (the health factor is another story, but I’ve harshly come to terms that my death will be diet coke related) but what about those people who get regular coke? Now a large regular coke has 310 calories. I checked to see how much their extra large drink has and that nutritional fact is conveniently not listed on Mc Donald’s website at the moment.

But to make a long story short, there’s a whole heck of a lot of calories in one. Probably more calories in it than would be needed for an entire meal. So after coming to this realization I was concerned. A concern for the ever increasing waist bands of my fellow patrons. As I was pondering this dilemma I received a phone call from my other sister who lives in the polar opposite demographic of Wisconsin; Los Angeles. Now I hate Los Angeles. It’s a bunch of aging hipsters running around drinking their wheat grass and eating something organic. It’s a town full of obsessed fools who spend their day at the gym and only take an hour or two off for their weekly botox injection. Now if you wanna see miserable self obsessed people just go to Los Angles and take one look at those anorexic fetuses. Talking to my sister made me remember just exactly how much I hate it there and how much I love being in a place where weight is a non issue. The people in Wisconsin are genuinely happy. And I’m convinced it’s because of the lack of judgment. Because when you think about it they really have nothing else to brag about. Their weather sucks and their sports teams are just as dismal, but yet these people have an inner cheerfulness.

After looking over all the facts I am ashamed of myself. Ashamed of the judgment I’ve placed on others, ashamed of how I ever questioned Mc Donald’s extra large option, and ashamed that I have not come to this realization sooner. So what if high school girls here are busting out of their jeans, so what if middle age men with beer guts walk around in speedos on a hot day. They’re happy. And to tell you truth it’s liberating to be in a place where being overweight is not seen as a problem. It’s just part of life. I figure people should do what makes them happy and if that means drinking that extra large regular coke or going back for that second scoop of ice cream than go for it. So what if they may die sooner than others, at least they’re going down grinning. Now if being thin is what floats your boat and makes you happy feel free. But what I’ve learned is irreplaceable. I’ve learned that in Wisconsin one can always feel at their all time best. It’s a pretty great place.

Entry filed under: Fun Time Nicki, Random, Travel.

Miller Monday – Paris Hilton Naked And yet there’s more: Harriet Carter (and other genius products) Volume III

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JL  |  June 4, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    Speaking of the great state of Wisconsin, what’s the Flavor of the Day at Culver’s? This post made me crave a sturdy Glorious Grasshopper malt.

    Reply
  • 2. jdon  |  June 4, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    You know funtimenicki, its all fun and games until your third coronary bipass. Then its not funny anymore.

    Reply
  • 3. lemare  |  June 4, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    I had a big bowl of cabbage and spinach and other veggies with a little vinegarette I made and I’ve been furious all day. Mad at the bowl of grapes to my right. Mad at the off-tasting carrots from the Whole Foods. I just got out of an hour and a half meeting with finance people talking about finance stuff and all I could think about was how much happier I would be if I would have had a slice of pizza instead of the rabbit food.

    Reply
  • 4. lemare  |  June 4, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    I’m just realizing that JL and her sister, Fun Time Nicki, have now made three posts celebrating McDonald’s.

    Reply
  • 5. funtimenicki  |  June 4, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    What are you talking about jdon? The third coronary bipass makes it all the more hilarious.

    Reply
  • 6. sfphenix  |  June 4, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    You are *so* right about the Diet Coke mix at McDo’s. It’s like Zeus himself descended from on high and concocted that sweet nectar with his own deific hands.

    Let us not forget that Wisconsin is right next to Minnesota — home of Mount Rose’s own teen dream queen Amber Atkins! (“Gladys, we need more bars!!!”)

    Reply
  • 7. Lindsay  |  June 4, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    The happiness is due to the brats. I’m amazed that people from other parts of this great land are not familiar with the brat. This is a travesty. Chicago also has tasty brats, and I have a butcher that makes the best ones ever. No walking into Jewel and buying Thompsonville. No. Real brats from a real butcher. No wonder Wisconsin folks smile.

    Reply
  • 8. Lowdogg  |  June 5, 2007 at 11:44 am

    “Now if you wanna see miserable self obsessed people just go to Los Angles and take one look at those anorexic fetuses.”

    Wow. I do like a direct approach.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,690 hits

