The Text Message Break Up

June 7, 2007 at 10:57 pm 7 comments

I’ve come to realize that every generation has its trademark. Each one handles situations in entirely different ways and each criticizes the other for it. It’s like how my grandparents won’t throw food out. Even if a chunk of cheese is green and has visible fungus sprouting forth my grandmother will scrape it off and try to disguise it in a sandwich. While I may question this and even accuse her of passively aggressively trying to kill me, it’s something that I have respect and try to understand.

 

Topic that I feel that no one outside of my generation understands is the beauty of text messaging. Text messaging is a gift from the cell phone gods enabling us to get messages across to people in short, efficient ways without ever having to speak to the person. While some may argue that it is bringing about a generation of impersonal, digital freaks who are incapable of ever being able to make eye contact let alone talk, I see it as a beacon sheltering me from having to spend 1 hour on the phone when all I have to say can be said in 2 sentences. See the problem with actually calling someone is that people like to chat, and when you’re a gal on the go, you just don’t have the time. Sure there are some people I enjoy talking to but those people are limited to the number of fingers I have on my hand. Also, text messaging can be done anywhere. In a movie, during class, or anywhere else that is deemed inappropriate. It’s fabulous!

Text messaging has not only taken over the way my generation communicates but also the way we date. The last bloke I dated was against text messaging and saw it as a futile means of communication and insisted on speaking voice to voice over the phone, and to be perfectly honest, it made me ridiculously uncomfortable. I got used to the routine of talking every night, but when something spontaneous or funny would happen it was just a pain in my neck that I couldn’t text him. Instead I had to pick up the phone, dial, and wait for the fool to pick up. I stand by the statement that we didn’t make it because of his inability to text. I believe that we would have had a fighting chance had I not been forced to pick up the phone every time I needed to say something. It just wasn’t necessary. Now I’m not saying that phone conversation is a bad thing, but one must admit that it’s not the most productive thing in the world. When I’m in a texting conversation I am free to do whatever the heck I want. I can be eating, I can be doing homework, watching t.v., reading a book, or anything else that tickles my fancy. Talking on the phone limits you’re options.

I feel that it’s time texting is embraced by the general public in all forms. There’s all this etiquette tied up with it, and I’m just saying I think it’s time we relax, accept it, and worry about other things. I mean if someone wants to break up with someone via text message, why not? It sure isn’t the classiest way to handle things but if you’re dating a jackass, I wouldn’t blame you. I mean you didn’t see anyone get on Britney’s back about dumping Federline over a text, you saw it with a lot of her other actions, but the text message was a fair hit. It sends more than just a break up message, it sends a universal message. It says, “You weren’t worth actually calling or doing this to your face so here it is in font. So there.” I think it’s fantastic, a bit shameless but fantastic nonetheless. In the future I predict we’ll see wedding invites through text messages attached with a camera snap shot done with the slide show feature. Again, it’s not something I’d do, but I sure would support it. I would certainly question how they got away with doing it with out being murdered by their parents and the rest of society, but still it would be an action that would secretly please me, or at least humor me. So all I’m saying is that the next time the person you’re dating dumps you via text or someone invites you to an extremely important personal event in font, feel free to hold a grudge but do your best to laugh and embrace it. It’s a new generation, however weird, ridiculous or misunderstood it may seem. Try to go with it.

Entry filed under: Commentary, Fun Time Nicki, Living History, Random.

The Fair Strategy Mitt Comes to Mix ‘N Mingle in Washington

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joey  |  June 8, 2007 at 11:54 am

    This is the all-time silliest thing I have ever read. Your third paragraph is the very definition of narcissism.

    Reply
  • 2. lemare  |  June 8, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    I’m going to give it a whirl. I think every relationship I’ve ever ended has been done via phone or email. Never text. I really need to get with the times.

    Reply
  • 3. Joey  |  June 8, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    Oh, LeMare. You know you would never break up via text. You are a lady. I can’t even imagine your doing something that would so offend nature’s God and Judith Martin. Is it even possible to text message while wearing a breakfast suit?

    Every generation believes it has a set of beliefs or practices that, while older generations may disapprove, are nevertheless true and correct. Every generation is almost always wrong.

    This, by the way, is what is known as a first principle.

    Reply
  • 4. lemare  |  June 8, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    Joey, Thank you for bringing Judith Martin into this. So excited by technological advances have I become that I forgot that it is so much more charming for me to continue ending relationships on the phone.

    Alas, I’m getting along in the years, so hopefully I will not be ending TOO many more relationship.

    Reply
  • 5. Joey  |  June 8, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    And Judith is probably the reason I have never sent a text message, break-up or otherwise. That and the arthritis.

    Reply
  • 6. funtimenicki  |  June 9, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    Now I can agree with you on the narcissist part, that I am, but as far as the silliest thing you’ve ever read…I’m not so sure.. .But either way I love the controversy lol.

    Reply
  • 7. Jen  |  June 18, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    I know it’s a minor point, but I would argue that many things can be done while talking on the phone. Don’t tell me you all have never had a convo while visiting the washroom…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,966 hits

