A Thicke Gene Pool

June 19, 2007 at 11:14 pm 10 comments

It would be a lie if I told you I watched more than 38 seconds of this music video:

You hear lyrics like this:  “Baby you’re the perfect shape, Baby you’re the perfect weight”  and think he is a contemporary of R. Kelly, as they have similar musical styles and a similar fan base.  But there are a few striking differences… For one, as you noticed in the music video, ROBIN THICKE IS ACTUALLY WHITE!!!  Despite his appearances at BET awards shows, the only “B” in this man is his SOUL. 

So who is this Robin Thicke?  The white boy who makes lady BET fans swoon?  I’ll give you a hint:  “(Oooh) Well does she want me to carry her home now? (Oooh) So does she want me to buy her things? On my house, on my job; On my loot, shoes, my shirt, My crew, my mind, my father’s last name?”  Think Thicke.   ALAN Thicke–the most washed up actor in Hollywood, Jason Seaver on Growing Pains…

Robin is Alan Thicke, NG.  Yes, the next generation of Thickes is more pernicious than the last.  More empirical data:  “All i wanted to do was get it up and give love a chance; Ooo looking at you i got energy up in my pants

Knowing what the offspring of washed-up ’80s sitcom stars are capable of makes me never want to to hear about a Baby Baio.

Entry filed under: Celebrities, Commentary, LeMare's Posts, Music, Pop Culture.

Strawberry Nesquik I Can Hear You Now – Part IV

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lowdogg  |  June 19, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    I couldn’t believe that this guy was serious when I first saw this video. He performed on American Idol and it was a little weird. The falsetto thing was enough. I hadn’t actually listened to the lyrics.

    “You want to touch yourself when you see me”

    As in:

    “Where is the mace? In my brassiere?”

    However, out of nostalgic love for Dad Thicke, I have to think there are more washed up folks.

    And Scott Baio deserves some love for his Bob Loblaw tour de force.

    Reply
  • 2. lemare  |  June 20, 2007 at 12:05 am

    True, Scott Baio, unlike Poppa Thicke, did make an appearance on Arrested Development, which is quite redeeming. Bob Loblaw. Classic.

    Reply
  • 3. David Schleicher  |  June 20, 2007 at 12:21 am

    Robin Thicke’s popularity is mind boggling to me. There’s no account for taste these days…and c’mon…Alan Thicke’s son gets street cred? I don’t get it. I don’t see him lasting, though.

    Reply
  • 4. Massimo  |  June 20, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Can you imagine Sinatra (or Jon Bon Jovi, for that matter) singing, “Tell me how you love me more, / Or how you think I’m sexy, baby”?

    It appears that Thicke fils has taken too much to heart the counsel in the lyric that constitutes his father’s greatest contribution to Western culture: “The facts of life are all about you.”

    Such is the needy narcissism of our age. With any luck he’ll last only as long as his father’s talk show (anyone remember that?).

    Reply
  • 5. JL  |  June 20, 2007 at 9:43 am

    So true Massimo. Sinatra would never stoop to such a lyrical low…

    The first time I ever saw this pansy was on American Idol and I thought how could the producers snub Katherine McPhee but give this guy crucial air time? His lyrics are uncomfortable for everyone.

    Reply
  • 6. lemare  |  June 20, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    Don’t even speak of musical genuises like JBJ in the same BREATH as Robin Thicke!

    Reply
  • 7. Joey  |  June 20, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    Tommy used to work on the docks. Union’s been on strike. He’s down on his luck. It’s tough . . . so tough. Gina works the diner all day. Working for her man, she brings home her pay. For love . . . for love.

    Damn unions.

    Reply
  • 8. Massimo  |  June 20, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    Damn unions, indeed. What’s worse is that Tommy’s got his six-string in hock. Such outrages will not be tolerated when the revolution comes. Neither will Robin Thicke.

    Whoa-oh, we’re halfway there . . .

    Reply
  • 9. Jdon  |  June 22, 2007 at 9:48 am

    I’m a little uneasy about how closely he resembles his father. Its almost as if Dr. Jason Seaver himself is reinacting some pedophilic fantasy inside R. Kelly’s closet. Its just a little bit too much for me right now. I think I need to take a shower.

    Reply
  • 10. Lindsay  |  June 25, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Too bad alan thicke isn’t a real psychiatrist. maybe he could have fixed little robin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,693 hits

