Of course.

July 13, 2007 at 5:55 am 7 comments

Greetings from the Land of the Rising Sun.  My travel fortune has yet to improve greatly from my last great adventure to Machu Picchu and the Peruvian jungle.

On the plane from LAX to Tokyo, we were seated behind deaf people.  At initial thought, what good luck, they will be quiet!  The boys promptly reclined their seats and when the flight attendent announced for people to lift up their seats so that people could eat more easily, we looked at each other and said, “Of course.  We’re behind the only people on this plane who can’t hear that announcement.”

And then, the next day, I learned the hard way the the Japanese feel that Americans overcook chicken.  So when we got to Shinjuku, I glanced across the street and saw him there, taunting me.  Yes, less than 24 hours after touchdown, and I already was lusting after the Colonel.  And after three days in Tokyo, we’ve already eaten at a Wendy’s and two McDonalds.  Of course. 

Then we spent two hours trying to find a restaurant named Nobu.  It wasn’t near ANYTHING and we arrived with empty stomachs and a feeling of elation in actually FINDING something.  We get there and find out it closed down.  We look at each other, “Of course.”

Tonight, we dined at a bar that featured a Japanese Beatle-mania group.  We shared the table with a Japanese family who didn’t speak English, but knew all the Beatle’s songs by heart.  Whenever they caught my eye, they encouraged me to dance.  So on “I Want to Hold Your Hand,” I gave them a little sugar and busted out a couple seated dance moves I pirated from the routine my jazz class performed when I was seven.  They were elated.  After the normal sounding bar food arrived hosting quail eggs and questionable fried chicken, I left the meal hungry, and handing over 4,200 Yen.  So I spent $40 on a dinner I didn’t eat and couldn’t even find a McDonald’s to wash it down.  Of course.

And then we learn Typhoon Man-yi hits Japan AFTER the rainy season ended, thwarting our efforts to climb Mt. Fuji.  We looked at each other and said, “Of course.”

One week left in this wonderland and I can’t wait to see what will happen next…

Entry filed under: LeMare's Posts, Travel.

A Nice Slice of American Man Snack! Of Course, continued.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  July 13, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    I think you need to find yourself a karaoke bar and drown your sorrows in the lyrics of “Billy Jean” or another MJ classic!

    Reply
  • 2. Jdon  |  July 13, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    Two words for your sorrows: Kabuki Theater!

    Reply
  • 3. lemare  |  July 13, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Actually, I DID hig Kabuki Theater–it’s 2 minutes from my hotel! It was an adaptation of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night. The irony of a man playing a woman, who was pretending to be a man was not lost on me.

    Reply
  • 4. Massimo  |  July 14, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    Ah, LeMare, there’s a gender studies major lurking inside you. Time to let him/her out! (This will have the added benefit of drastically reducing your cosmetics and wardrobe expenses.)

    Of course, a male portraying a female pretending to be a male was presumably the way the role of Viola was first performed, ca. 1600. The Japanese have history on their side.

    And one of the most revered of all Shakespearean film adapations is Kurosawa’s “Throne of Blood,” a reworking of “Macbeth.” So a Kabuki “Twelfth Night” isn’t all that unusual.

    Reply
  • 5. Lindsay  |  July 16, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    An IRF-er caught in a typhoon named manny. Of course.

    Reply
  • 6. cburt  |  July 16, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    Ah lemare, the sad thing is I am familiar with the dance moves of which you speak. I don’t have to have been there to envision it exactly as it transpired, I’m sure.

    Reply
  • 7. lemare  |  July 16, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Yes, carrie… it IS how it transpired in our dance class, though I sat. I also didn’t wear a black leotard with a neon felt skirt/bib.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,966 hits

