Of Course, continued.

July 16, 2007 at 8:29 am 14 comments

So we took the train from Tokyo to Hiroshima.  It was relatively dry most of the way, but once we got off the train and started walking to our hotel, Typhoon Man-yi struck and we had torrential downpour the entire walk.  It stopped as soon as we arrived.  Of course.

Next door, there was a little restaurant that sold this local specialty that involves a number of variable ingredients, but always cabbage.  We walked up, ready to eat, and they sent us away saying they didn’t have any cabbage.  Dave looked and me and said, “And why would they?”

Today, we had a dry train ride and then it started pouring as soon as we arrived in Kyoto, naturally.  Biggest festival of the year, the Gion Matsuri, is in full force, so there were no hotels to be found.  That means, I, Princess Naperville, am in a Youth Hostal for the first time in my life.  12 people per room.  I may not survive this ordeal.  I considered turning tricks at a nice hotel, just to get a room.  Alas, there were no takers and I’m at bthe BAKpAK Hostal for two nights, as we got a 5 star hotel for the third… I’m just waiting for them to lose my reservation.

 I don’t know what I did to earn this travel karma.  I don’t know what travel gods I angered.  I have no idea why I’m relegated to a computer in a lounge in a youth hostal with pot leafs, Bob Marley, Bjork, and Swiss Miss Hot Chocolate stickers decorating the walls.  There is a game in the corner called “Strip Darts” and I’m relieved no one is playing.  I suppose this is an experience I should have under my belt, but I’m too old, and frankly, live to kushy a life to do this.

I haven’t figured out how I’m supposed to sleep with the other 10 people coming in at all hours of the night and getting ready for bed in our dorm.  Heaven help me.

Entry filed under: LeMare's Posts, Travel.

Of course. Miller Monday – Good Sound Logic!

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lowdogg  |  July 16, 2007 at 11:01 am

    This is classic.

    I don’t think there are too many ladies wearing the Weitzmans in a Youth Hostel.

    Reply
  • 2. Lindsay  |  July 16, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    It looks like you may have to do “Of Course, part 3” after seeing that you’ve now been struck by a major earthquake. Boy, 1 week, 1 typhoon, and 1 earthquake. That’s quite a vacation. Of Course.

    Reply
  • 3. Dave  |  July 16, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    Oh LeMare! What did you do to anger the travel God’s? Maybe it was our Spain trip where you and I were dubbed the worst traveling companions by that unfashionable, Seville-hating traveler who shall not be named on this site. Maybe you’ve been cursed?! What else could explain a typhoon and multiple earthquakes hitting Japan the very precise week you are there? Those are bad enough, but to have one of the Princess Napervilles (I’m married to the other one) have to stay in a Youth Hostel, well, all I can say is the worst might yet to come. Poor Japan. Poor LeMare.

    Reply
  • 4. JL  |  July 16, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    You and Travel Companion Dave weren’t affected by today’s earthquake were you? That would just be the cherry on top of the youth hostel.

    Reply
  • 5. Jdon  |  July 16, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Don’t get me wrong, Youth Hostel’s grossing me out, but not nearly as much as your craving for The Colonel. You really might need to see a doctor.

    Reply
  • 6. cburt  |  July 16, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Fortunately, it sounds like you’re too far south to have felt the earthquake, but still, what are the chances??? I think you have, in fact, upset the travel gods.

    I have to admit that when you told me you were going to Japan one of my first thoughts was “what will she eat?!”

    Reply
  • 7. Jo Ellen  |  July 16, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    I was hoping LeMare and I could be traveling companions in the future, but now I’m not so sure. I don’t like typhoons, earthquakes, youth hostels, shigella, and whatever else follows her around. But I still love you–especially in Utah and Naperville!!

    Reply
  • 8. lemare  |  July 16, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    Jo Ellen… I promise we shall never stay in a youth hostal again. it is the morning. I got dressed under my sheets. I coudn’t sleep for hours, so then i thought, “what would my mother or aunt do?” and I sedated myself with an ambien.

    time for the Gion Matsuri parade. I’m hoping a float doesn’t fall on me or a samuirai drop his sword.

    Reply
  • 9. Jen  |  July 16, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    By chance, did you, Princess Naperville, ride in a shopping cart cover when you were a baby?

    Reply
  • 10. Lindsay  |  July 17, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Doesn’t Dave’s comment imply that there are only two Princess Napervilles? I guess I don’t reach Princess Status. Or maybe I reach beyond it–to Queen.

    Reply
  • 11. pammyshep  |  July 17, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    I slept in a room with 8 people in Salzburg and a drunk homeless man wandered into our room 3 times during the night. the contruction crew showed up outside the window at 6:50 am everyday, greeting me with kiss noises and nasty remarks (I could be making that up since I don’t speak German, but it sounded nasty). Kids smoked pot in the bathroom across the hall. The staff didn’t understand why we were upset. Get out before you contract plantars warts in the communal showers!

    Reply
  • 12. lemare  |  July 17, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    Two nights in hostel. confession. i’ve gone to the bathroom at restaurants and in lieu of showered, i’ve been using pre-moistened cleansing wipes. i have three types, for various needs. i know it is disgusting, but i’m also using mouthwash, deoderant, and nanette lepore perfume to disguise my lack of showering. They don’t have towels. you can rent them and that terrifies me.

    we’re taking off for the nice hotel now where i will shower enough for 3 girls!

    Reply
  • 13. pammyshep  |  July 17, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    Don’t forget to take photos of all the BAD outfit choices from locals or fellow travelers. I’m in the midst of setting up my new blog which will contain travel horror stories in addition to extremely tacky clothes. You will, of course, be expected to share both stories and photos.

    Reply
  • 14. IRF’S 1-Year Anniversary « In Rare Form  |  April 13, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    […] I report to you from the Hotel Victoria in Rome. It is far and away better than the hostel I was relegated to in Giuliani.  He walked right by me.  My dad didn’t notice them at first […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,690 hits

