Miller Monday – Truth Be Known!

August 6, 2007 at 10:28 am 7 comments

Do you think of yourself as the cutest person in the world?  Do you think of yourself as the smartest person in the world?  Guess what, your mom does.  And she is wrong!  This may be very difficult for some of you to swallow, but it is true!  And guess what else; there is nothing wrong with that.  There is nothing wrong with being dumb and ugly.  The truth is, most of us are!

We are surrounded by self deception from an early age.  How many of us have been shown an obligatory photo from a friend or colleague, fed to the line of, “Isn’t she the cutest baby you have ever seen?”  We typically nod our head in approval and then dish out a photo of our own, whether it be son, daughter, or nephew.  We then in turn exclaim, “My little _______ is the smartest little thing in the whole world.”  Baby grows up and goes to school where he/she brings home a ghastly scribble made on recycled paper.  We beam with joy and put it on the refrigerator exclaiming, “You are a wonderful artist.”  After bringing home a report card full of B’s & C’s in high school we scratch our heads wondering what is wrong with the teachers in baby’s school, not recognizing his/her brilliance.  When dropping out of college, getting a tattoo, and going on a crack binge we claim that “Baby is just having a hard time discovering his/her potential.”  I ask you, could it be that a crack pipe and a hastily decided butterfly tattoo over baby’s buttocks really is baby’s potential?  Not everyone was born to really make difference in this world.  Let’s face it; some of us need to create the problems that the truly blessed will one day resolve.

I say, let’s stop the deceit now.  I have vowed never to lie to my son.  My son was not a super attractive baby, he certainly was no physical specimen of strength and agility, and his intelligence is about average.  This has no bearing on how I feel for my son.  I love him immensely.  My feelings for him have absolutely nothing to do with his appearance or his achievements.  I love him because he is my son.

I must admit, however, there is another reason that I do not lie to my son, and it is somewhat selfish in its design.  Before I divulge the reasons for my madness, I feel a need to convey to everyone that although my intentions might be selfish, I do feel that my design is FOR THE GREATER GOOD (subtle Harry Potter reference for Lemare).  There is no way that I will ever allow my son to parade a lack of talent in front of the world on American Idol.  I will not stand for it.  Too many parents have built up a false sense of self esteem in their children only to see their lives and careers go somewhat less than planned.  Both child and parent then spend the remainder of their lives justifying why their current situation did not happen the way Mommy planned it.  Instead they are required to make the most of their lives with the tools and talents they have been given.  Plus, it is just plain embarrassing the way those parents believe that their kids can sing.

I don’t care what your mother told you.  You aren’t really special.  Believing you are special is the kind of thinking that convinces people to run red lights, steal, and lie.  Let’s face it people, you are mediocre, and there is nothing wrong with that.

Regards,

Joe Miller

Entry filed under: Miller Monday.

Metro PDA Guest Post: Understanding Directions

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lemare  |  August 6, 2007 at 11:19 am

    Joe… are you admitting that you have read Harry Potter #7?

    My mother never gave me a false sense of excellence… as any of you who read my posting “Even a Barn Looks Better Painted” can attest…

    Reply
  • 2. TRussell  |  August 6, 2007 at 11:41 am

    I enjoy being lied to.

    Reply
  • 3. yur brudder  |  August 6, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Just because your son was a ginger at birth didn’t make him less handsome. There are a lot of attractive gingers–Carrot top, Prince Harry, Danny Bonaduce, and L. Ron Hubbard, to name a few.

    Reply
  • 4. Lowdogg  |  August 6, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    I walk into every room thinking that I am BAD—. Its awesome.

    But I have to agree that reality TV provides all the justification that a parent might need for being brutally honest.

    Reply
  • 5. lemare  |  August 6, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    Little People Big World gives me hope that there ARE good parents out there.

    Reply
  • 6. Yur Pa  |  August 7, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    Now I feel better that I never told anyone that you were cute (inlcuing you) and I never told anyone you were smart. Thank you for absolving me of my parental sin after all these years.

    By the way, your son is cute and smart.

    Reply
  • 7. Lowdogg  |  August 8, 2007 at 7:23 am

    That explains why you gave yourself the “Ugly Joe” nickname.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,966 hits

