It’s Not Rory’s First Kiss.

August 14, 2007 at 2:56 pm 11 comments

Not since JL and I scooped the Washington Post in reporting (and displaying personal photographic evidence) that National Treasure was filming at Mt. Vernon has IRF given you such a behind the scenes glimpse of movie making.

 This past weekend, the streets around my neighborhood were blocked off to traffic and movie filming trucks lined the street.  Entrance to my building was achieved only by producing my drivers license with my address (I confess that I may have sung “I’ve got a golden ticket!” as I breezed past security).  They’ve been very mum about the filming calling it “Rory’s First Kiss.”  I am not so easily fooled, as demonstrated by this expose.

Upon entrance of my apartment, I heard the sound helicopters flying very close.  I produced my Motorola Razr, thinking of IRF the whole time, I snapped this photo from my very own couch:

Batman Helicopter in Chicago

My interest was piqued, because, as the Motorola Razr does not show, there were TWO helicopters flying next to my window, and there were snipers hanging out…  The only thing scarier than snipers flying outside my apartment would be Katie Holmes returning to the big screen…

But it is true, I walked downstairs, and on State Street, what did I see?  All Chicago police cars would say CPD…  What’s this GPD police car I see???

Gotham Police Department

I saw camoflage Humvees roaming the streets and I became more and more intrigued.  Using the power of my address-riddled Drivers License, I finagled my way past MORE security and found THIS truck on Wacker Drive: 

Gotham Bomb Squad

Yes, that’s right, the City of Gotham Bomb Squad.  Katie Holmes IS going to be on your neighborhood silver screen again… So when you go to see the next Batman movie, and you see a snipers flying down the Chicago River, look for me in my apartment, standing at the window, snapping cell phone photos. 

Entry filed under: Celebrities, Chicago, Current Events, Film, LeMare's Posts, Pop Culture.

Miller Monday – How to Judge And the Card Attached Would Say…

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  August 14, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    Can I have your autograph?

    For those of you who haven’t been to LeMare’s condo, it is AWESOME! Even better now that Gotham helicopters have flown by her windows!

    Reply
  • 2. Lowdogg  |  August 14, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    Unforunately, Mrs. Cruise will not be appearing in The Dark Knight. She has been replaced by Maggie Gyllenhal. So rest easy!

    Reply
  • 3. lemare  |  August 14, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    What spectacular news, Lowdogg… I’m glad to know that Tommy C has not been roaming the streets of my neighborhood.

    Reply
  • 4. Bubbs  |  August 14, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    I have also witnessed the makings of this movie, since I live a block away from Lemare, and am surprised that you, Lemare, haven’t noticed until now what’s been going on all around us for the last many weeks! The two helicopters have circled overhead on at least three or four different days, and my daily walk to and from work has been full of detours around movie crews and filming in the Wacker/Wabash area. The last scene I stumbled upon late one night had someone running down Wacker. I’ll have to wait for the big screen to figure out what that was all about. And yesterday, on my way back from a meeting on West Van Buren, I saw the old post office with the sign, “City of Gotham Police Department.” The building looked rather deserted, so I think they have moved onto bigger and better scenes, namely, the ones outside Lemare’s and my front door.

    And if it weren’t exciting enough already, don’t forget that Brad and Angelina are here filming a movie as well. They’re staying just a few blocks away (at the humble rate of $7,500 per night), so maybe Lemare and I need to mosey on up the street for a celebrity sighting…NOT.

    Reply
  • 5. JL  |  August 14, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    ‘Tis a crying shame Kate Cruise/Holmes Katie won’t be making another stellar performance. She was just so darn riveting that first time around as the pesky moral Assistant D.A.

    Reply
  • 6. Jeff S  |  August 14, 2007 at 10:23 pm

    I was at the Chicago Wizard comic book convention last weekend. A surprise panel had Christian Bale (Bruce Wayne), Gary Oldman (Comm. Gordon), and the writers and director in attendance. They previewed some of the footage that they had so far. I suspect it will be a pretty good movie. The whole crowd was driven into a frenzy. (Which isn’t hard, considering the audience.) It was such a hot event at the convention, I couldn’t even get in.

    Too bad Tom Cruise wouldn’t let Katie be in this one.

    Lucky you, LeMare. The only thing that could have improved your find would be if you had gotten a shot of Batman himself swinging by your window.

    Reply
  • 7. Jdon  |  August 15, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    I actually heard that the Church of Scientology came out against Batman movies declaring that they are among Lord Xenu’s favorite movies. Plus, we all know what Christian Bale does to our Thetan levels!

    Reply
  • 8. pammyshep  |  August 15, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    This makes run-in with McDreamy last summer in Central Park pale in comparison. His movie is some tra-la-la Disney affair and can in no way compete with the Dark Knight, but I will of course go just to see if I’m part of the background. And just so Jeff S doesn’t feel like such a dork for publicly admitting to attending a comic book convention, I went to a Star Wars convention a few years ago not to raise the bar for attractive women at such events (which is what a Klingon told me), but rather to meet my favorite evil vampire (Spike) from Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

    So Bubbs and LeMare, if you actually can get a photo of Heath Ledger (AKA: The Joker) and can post it on this site, you’ll be the most popular people on the planet (reread Jeff’s comment).

    Reply
  • 9. lemare  |  August 15, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    I’ll be on my lookout for Heath Ledger, Pammy. Does it count that I crossed the street in front of Mike Ditka in a big, black Mercedes this morning?

    So Pammy at the Star Trek Convention and Jeff at the Comic Convention don’t feel bad, I will admit that I’ve been to the Sound of Music Sing-a-long, and next time I go, I’d like to dress up with a friend as Jam and Bread.

    Reply
  • 10. Lindsay  |  August 16, 2007 at 10:13 am

    I would personally like to welcome my good friend, Jeff S., to the conversation! So Pammyshep can dress up like Buffy, Jeff can dress like Superman (I’ve seen him in said outfit), and Maret will dress like lunch. Hmmmm. It seems I’m not so bad off dressing like I always do…someone in need of Clinton and Stacey of “What Not to Wear” fame. If only they would appear outside my window…..

    Reply
  • 11. hiutopor  |  September 19, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    Hi

    Very interesting information! Thanks!

    G’night

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,501 hits

