Get a Library Card for Goodness Sake

August 22, 2007 at 11:05 am 9 comments

An AP poll revealed yesterday that one in four adults read no books in the past year. Apart from factors such as education level, age, gender, race and religion, analysts point to the high level of competition from other media fraying people’s commitment to reading.

p6020001.jpg

Sometimes following your favorite celebrities inhibits productive book reading.

Having majored in English and married the son of an English teacher, I have many family members who are constantly reading and recommending books. In this poll, it showed the average person read four books last year, and I know many people who do this in just a month or two. Another finding indicated that Westerners and Midwesterners had read at least one book in the past year, more than many in the South. Based on Chicago-based LeMare’s many book recommendations, I’m taking a stab that she fits into this group.

The group that read not a single book last year tended to be older, less educated, from rural areas, minorities and lower income. All areas have libraries so access to books isn’t the problem. Older people should have more time to read if they are retired, so it appears that some people just never get into the habit of reading. Almost a third of men fit into this category as do a quarter of women.

So if you’re looking to get out of the “haven’t touched a book in a year” category or above the national average of reading four books a year, consider some last minute summer reading. Books I’d suggest are The Glass Castle, Benjamin Franklin: An American Life, the #1 Ladies Detective Agency series, Expecting Adam (although read this disclaimer first to understand Beck’s definition of non-fiction) and two sisters-in-law and my college roommate have given stellar endorsements of BYU grad’s Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight, Eclipse and New Moon vampire series. Any other good books you’ve read recently?

Entry filed under: Commentary, JL's Posts, Literature, News.

A Very Special Miller Monday – A Baby Boomer Gives In Take Some Time For Yourself Today

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jana  |  August 22, 2007 at 11:42 am

    I just finished Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult. I would recommend anything by her. I also loved the first three installements of the vampire love saga, and my hubby liked them, too. One of the best books I read in the past year was The Memory Keepers Daughter. I know, so 2006…

    Reply
  • 2. lemare  |  August 22, 2007 at 11:47 am

    I read Memory Keeper’s Daughter a year ago. Very interesting/thought-proviking, but not necessarily a “feel good” book.

    I just read Memoirs of a Geisha in Japan. Also not a “feel good” book, but I did enjoy reading it WHILE I was in Kyoto. Every time I read books about other cultures, I feel like my perspective is so expanded.

    I just took on a classic (a SHORT classic) and read The Old Man and the Sea by Hemingway. I enjoyed it and it increased my resolve to squeeze in some classics with the NYT bestsellers.

    Reply
  • 3. Lowdogg  |  August 22, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    I like the Twilight Series also.

    I like Old Man’s War by John Scalzi, and the followup the Ghost Brigades.

    Reply
  • 4. jlee  |  August 22, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Rebecca by Daphne De Maurier was interesting good. A little heavy on detail but kept me wondering?

    Reply
  • 5. jlee  |  August 22, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Lydia Cassat Reading the Morning Paper was a quick read. It was interesting to see the disease progress in different painting by her sister Mary Cassat. Also I LOVED -Here Be Dragons, but I love history.

    Reply
  • 6. Stephanie  |  August 23, 2007 at 1:21 am

    I just read the Twilight series and loved those- the first one was the best out of the three but, they were all enjoyable.

    My Sister’s Keeper – Jodi Picoult – a good page turner. The F bomb is dropped several times just so you’re warned.

    Angle of Repose by Wallace Stenger – very literary and it was a difficult read for me but well worth it. I think it made me a better wife. Can have some great discussions from this one.

    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith – a good coming of age story

    One of my favorites- These is My Words by Nancy Turner. Stayed up all night to finish this one. LOVED IT! Just a fun book.

    Persuassion by Jane Austen- just read that one this year. A good classic.

    Reply
  • 7. pammyshep  |  August 23, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    I picked up Interpretation of a Murder by Jeb Rubenfeld (because it was the only book written in English I could find while in Italy) and it was an excellent read.

    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Zafon… could not put this one down. Loved the descriptions (now I have to visit Spain) and how the 3 different plots were woven to create a fablous mystery/spy/love/coming of age story.

    Also The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. A little rambling at times, but sometimes I had to read quickly because I was a wee bit frightened. Loved it!

    Reply
  • 8. jlow  |  August 24, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    Is that precious PT with the US Weekly in hand? A picture really is worth a thousand words sometimes. Hilarious photo JL. Judging from the fact that children learn mostly by example… shame on parents who don’t have a library card and then complain about how their children aren’t interested in reading books. I agree with several of the book recommendations above as well.

    Reply
  • 9. JL  |  August 24, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    J. LOW, yes it is little PT checking out the latest celebrity dirt. We’ll see if my U.S. Weekly habit gets passed down to the next generation…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,404 hits

