Be Thou Generous With Thy Tupperware

August 24, 2007 at 12:05 pm 6 comments

A social epidemic is abounding where people are letting their frugality interfere with their manners. I’m specifically talking about loaned Tupperware. When my older sister had given birth to her son, neighbors and church friends graciously volunteered to bring meals for the first few days home from the hospital. (LeMare’s family philosophy finds fault with this practice, as Papa LeMare points out that women know they’re having a baby for nine months and can take steps to prepare some frozen meals themselves, but there will always be those who insist on bringing in a mystery casserole that they love to make, but their family will never eat).

Anyways, some of the side dishes in one meal were stored in disposable Ziploc containers. The kind that are of such a flimsy material they’re only meant for a few uses at most before trashing. Two weeks after the meal, the medical school husband appeared at the back door unannounced, requesting that my sister find and return the three disposable containers. Needless to say, with a three week-old and four other little kids, my sister a) couldn’t have located them at that point if she tried and b) had already pitched them after the meal, seeing as how they were clearly of the disposable variety. Flustered and surprised at his request, she told him she would have to dig them up at a later time. He told her to drop them back at their house, which resulted in my sister having to buy three new small containers for $3.99 or some nominal cost, unopen them, and return them to the House of Stinge.

This is the worst case scenario but I’ve seen people get testy about Tupperware returns. As I see it, you can’t be frugal with Tupperware. What you put into the universe of Tupperware, you’ll only get back two-fold. A friend over for dinner last week was too full for dessert so requested her peach pie to go. She took her slice home in a small (undisposable) container and do I ever expect to see that exact container again? No. The point is, I’ll no doubt be getting one from her or another friend in the next month and it all evens out in the end. But to get branded a psycho over getting my Tupperware back is something I’m not willing to do.

On a side note, during a church lesson on frugality in college, one of my neighbors suggested to the group that we stretch our dollars by using Ziploc bags multiple times before disposing of them. She accomplished this by putting them in the dishwasher and could make it a whole semester on one measly box. To this I say sick.

Entry filed under: Commentary, JL's Posts, Manners and Grammar, Random.

Take Some Time For Yourself Today IRF Weekly Wrap-up

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lemare  |  August 24, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    ziplock sandwich baggies in the dishwasher??? I’m flabbergasted…

    Also, I think the opposition to meals is less my father (he helps people in the most ridiculous ways). My sister, LINDSAY, is more annoyed by that practice.

    Reply
  • 2. Lowdogg  |  August 24, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    That Ziploc thing is especially odd. I am not averse to reusing Ziploc bags, but only the gallon variety and only when the bag has been used to hold another bag, making it no more than a means of keeping air out. If any food touches said Ziploc back it should be shown the door.

    I can see someone hoping to get actual stiff Tupperware back, but to show up at someone’s house is highly improper. And then when the items in question are no more than disposable containers! Shocked.

    Reply
  • 3. Jdon  |  August 24, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    This reminds me of the time that I walked into my grandmother’s bathroom and saw about 15 – 20 paper towels hung up to dry. Apparently she is in the habit of washing and reusing them time and time again. Needless to say this very thought caused my stomach to church and I’m sad to report that I came to unleash my sick upon the bathroom floor. Unfortunately I did not know where to turn to find a clean paper towel to clean it up.

    Reply
  • 4. pammyshep  |  August 24, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    I’ll admit to reusing glass Mason jars for canning purposes (yes, I actually can fruits and jams) but I’m pretty sure that’s acceptable… isn’t it? I had friends who washed their plastic knives, forks, and spoons and reused their brown lunch bags (if not soiled) after picnics and and school lunches. They were horrified and chastised me when they discovered that I threw my said items in the garbage can supplied by the Parks & Rec department. The horror!

    Reply
  • 5. Lindsay  |  August 24, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    LINDSAY thinks it’s a nice thing to do for friends, but a silly thing to be assigned to do. Would you want someone assigned to bring you a meal? Not even during a recent unplanned illness and hospitalization would I consent to that! LINDSAY also thinks husbands are capable of feeding their families. But whatever, I’ve graciously accepted assignments to bring in meals to young mothers and have donated my tupperware with glad heart.

    Reply
  • 6. Bryn  |  May 17, 2008 at 10:44 am

    I’ve made it a tradition that whenever I end up with someone’s tupperware, I never return it empty! I make something….sometimes quick desserts etc. to fill it up. This really sticks in my friends’ memories….I always get my tupperware back and it puts a smile on my friends faces!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Yahoo! News Most Emailed Stories

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,775 hits

