Some people don’t have maps

August 30, 2007 at 1:44 am 16 comments

IRF is behind the 8 Ball in reporting this, but I finally got around to watching the talk of the town:  Miss Teen South Carolina.

I am speechless.  Watch it again.  It’s even worse the second time around.

Entry filed under: Current Events, Embarrassing Moments, LeMare's Posts, Pop Culture.

Miller Monday – Beauty Is In The Eye of the Dead Celeb Guest Post: Notes from the Field

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mikel  |  August 30, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    She should be given credit for naming three different countries. I hear that 1 in 7 Americans can’t do that. You try focusing with AC Slater standing next to you. Wasn’t someone associated with this blog a big Mark Paul Gosselar fan?

    As for why 1 in 5 can’t find the U.S. on a map of the world, as long as they know how the world revolves (around the U.S.) then I’m okay with that.

    Reply
  • 2. JL  |  August 30, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    How astonishing she was still third runner-up. Not quite the cream of the crop you’d expect. Certainly nothing like Amber Adkins.

    Reply
  • 3. TRussell  |  August 30, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    I can’t blame her, if Mario Lopez were standing so close it would be tough to find words to answer any question.

    Mikel, We are all HUGE MPG fans.

    Reply
  • 4. lemare  |  August 30, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    I love that she calls them “U.S. Americans”

    My favorite Mario Lopez role was his cameo on The Golden Girls.

    Reply
  • 5. JL  |  August 30, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    TRussell, PLEASE send us the lyrics to the MPG song you guys penned in college. It would be a delight to have something of such lyrical merit in our midst.

    Reply
  • 6. cburt  |  August 30, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    But remember, everyone, it’s NOT a beauty contest. It’s a scholarship contest.

    Reply
  • 7. Jdon  |  August 30, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    Its no wonder they chose AC Slater to host this event. He only scored 10500 on his SATs. Zach Morris, on the other hand, with his 1502 SAT score was probably hosting some Ivy League charity event or something. Is it even possible to get a 1502 on a SAT? Isn’t it scored in 10’s? Can someone answer that for me?

    Reply
  • 8. critts  |  August 30, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    I must admit I saw this live and thought it was absolutely fantastic! Thank goodness for TiVo because I was able to view this train wreck over and over again. Mario Lopez’s face during her answer is absolutely priceless. A true gem.

    Reply
  • 9. TRussell  |  August 30, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    I can’t take any credit for the MPG Anthem as it is properly named. The honors for that go to JDon and Wes.

    I just sang it at the freshman talent show which scored me a Preference invite from none other than my wife (still a Cardall at the time).

    Let’s see if I can remember…

    I am not gay, but I would give anything for just one day
    To see my favorite actor.
    He tells the funniest jokes
    He is so cool
    I just wanna keep on watching him.

    I’ve fallen in love with Mark Paul Gosselar.
    I just can’t keep him off my mind.
    My Saved by the Bell star is Mark Paul Gosselar
    [JDon, need some help with the last chorus line]

    Bridge-
    One day I will be happy
    When he dumps old Kelly Kapowski
    But until that day…

    Wes on the key board for the dance part

    repeat Chorus

    there are some great lyrics in there that I can’t remember.

    JDon is going to have to fill that in.

    Reply
  • 10. Mari & Derek  |  August 30, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    Derek: “Oh man, that’s really bad.”

    Mari: “Oh no, she did NOT just lump Asians in there with the group who needs US American help with geography.”

    Derek: (speechless)

    Mari: “In her defense, the person asking the question said ‘1/5th of Americans’, which she could have misunderstood as ‘US Americans.’ I guess.”

    Reply
  • 11. Stephanie  |  August 30, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    I think I lost a few brain cells watching that. Wow!

    Reply
  • 12. Lindsay  |  August 31, 2007 at 10:33 am

    Watching it again was too painful, like suchas.

    Reply
  • 13. Lindsay  |  August 31, 2007 at 10:35 am

    By the way, LeMare, I appreciated the title of this particular entry. Perfect! What an opening!

    Reply
  • 14. Lindsay  |  August 31, 2007 at 10:40 am

    I can’t believe I’m commenting 3 times in a row, but you can imagine how watching that renders one’s brain almost unusable. But, TRussell, I just figured out who you are. Hi! And, I guess I’m dating myself here, but who in the US America is Mark Paul Gosselar?

    Reply
  • 15. TRussell  |  August 31, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    TRussell is my general authority name like such as JDon is Joey’s.

    MPG is Zach Morris like such as “My saved by the bell star is Mark Paul Gosselar” – very popular among US Americans

    Reply
  • 16. Lindsay  |  August 31, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    Oh. Well, KMichael says hello.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,397 hits

