Kiss him and stop him from shaking. Somebody. Please.

September 18, 2007 at 1:52 pm 14 comments

 Here on IRF, we have spent some time discussing a wide variety of topics… Everything from The View to Barry Manilow.  Now, in a very odd twist of fate, these two topics collide.  

Barry Manilow was to appear as a guest on the View because he would ONLY appear without Elizabeth Hasselbeck, the show’s token conservative.  That’s right, 20% of the cohosts are conservative, but he will not appear on a show unless he shares political ideals with ALL of the hosts…

Manilow commented on TMZ:  “I strongly disagree with her views. I think she’s dangerous and offensive. I will not be on the same stage as her.”

I repeat:  DANGEROUS.

Moron.  If everyone had to agree politically with everyone who interviewed them, NO one would go on the View.  NO one would be on Hannity & Colmes.  NO one would go on Crossfire…  Barry Manilow, I no longer want a shirt that says:  “MANILOW“.  You are a ridiculous and I’m happy all the silly women who watch the View won’t have to be subjected to your bile.  Looks like we made it…

Entry filed under: Celebrities, Commentary, Current Events, LeMare's Posts, Music, News, Politics, Pop Culture, Television.

Miller Monday – The “Mouse” Celebrities in Our Midst

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eva Knight  |  September 18, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    Well, that is Barry’s right, isn’t it? Elizabeth Hasselbeck is a moron.

    Reply
  • 2. lemare  |  September 18, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    Eva, agreed that she can come across “blonde”, but Barry didn’t refuse to come on because he thinks she’s a moron, he refused because he thinks she’s dangerous (please!) and doesn’t agree with her.

    I repeat, if everyone refused to go on shows when they didn’t agree with all the hosts, no one would be on the View (which wouldn’t effect me in the least), but the point of the show is to have opposing viewpoints, so inherantly EVERYONE is going to disagree with at least ONE of them.

    Reply
  • 3. jdon  |  September 18, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    Why is it that when I look at that photo of Ms. Hasselbeck holding the Elmo doll I can literally hear Endless Love playing in the background? I can totally imagine them in roller skates spinning around in circles as reflected light from a hovering discoball dances across the shadows.

    Reply
  • 4. JL  |  September 18, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Yes, Barry, Elizabeth Hasselback is dangerous because she promotes the view that parents involved in an adulterous relationship aren’t being good parents. She must defend her “insane” opinion while Joy, Whoopi and Babs claim such behavior may detract from the marital relationship but not the one between parent and child.

    Line me up in the dangerous group…

    Reply
  • 5. TRussell  |  September 18, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    “Peligro” es mi nombre medio.
    – Caleb Casey Affleck, Ocean’s 13

    I guess he is conservative.

    Reply
  • 6. Mikel  |  September 18, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    Also, the point should be made that the Manilow’s of the world criticize the Hasselback’s of the world for not being open to the views of others, and then they act like this.

    Reply
  • 7. Dave  |  September 18, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    Well, it’s obvious that Manilow is in cahoots with Rosie O’Donnell since he’s appeared on the show twice before with Elisabeth. Oh well, I guess if a fellow gay isn’t on the show, he feels threatened. He’s a has-been anyways and not relevant at all – the view is better off without him.

    Reply
  • 8. Kerry  |  September 19, 2007 at 9:02 am

    As one of those “silly woman”, I feel very well versed in all things pertaining to The View. I watch it on a daily basis and it is the highlight of my morning (okay, admittedly, I have rather dull mornings). Anyway, I find it coincidental that Barry loves Rosie, Rosie hates Elisabeth, Rosie believes that we are the enemy and blew up our own WTC towers and therefore, Elisabeth is dangerous. HELLO???? I feel I now must donate my BM (nice initials, Barry) shirt – yes I own one, to Goodwill.

    Reply
  • 9. Lindsay  |  September 20, 2007 at 9:08 am

    I’m distressed that out of all the columns my sister and brother in law could have commented on, they chose the one on the view. oh dear.

    Reply
  • 10. Laura  |  September 23, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    A former choir teacher once dubbed Mr. Manilow “Barely ManEnough.” Nuff said.

    Reply
  • 11. pammyshep  |  September 23, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    Barry Manilow is GAY?

    Reply
  • 12. lemare  |  September 24, 2007 at 12:50 am

    Pammy, haven’t you ever wondered what MANNER of debauchery he was engaging in at the Copa Cabana? Actually I think the jury is still out on this one.

    Barely ManEnough is pretty clever.

    But is it wrong that when I hear the song, Mandy, I want to sing my little heart out?

    Reply
  • 13. pammyshep  |  September 24, 2007 at 11:21 am

    I was TOTALLY joking. Any man who wears that much stage make-up is 5 seconds from becoming Boy George. I would, however, pay the price to see his Vegas show. He’s an excellent entertainer.

    But about the Copa Cabana, I always thought it was about a young couple in love who fell in with the Cuban mafia and suffered a terrible tragedy leading to homelessness and alcoholism. Now I’m wondering if he was Lola’s pimp or maybe Lola was a drag queen? No way!!! My memories of Barry Manilow singing Copa Cabana on the Muppet Show are now tainted with flashbacks of the night I went to the Miss DC Drag Queen.

    Reply
  • 14. lemare  |  September 24, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Lola would be my drag name if i were a tranny named Larry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,404 hits

