Make it At Least Sound Like You’re Working

September 24, 2007 at 9:23 pm 12 comments

Since working from home over the last sixteen months, I’ve experienced the bad and the ugly of talking to clients, bosses and others from my makeshift satellite office. Were it not for my ever-busy fifteen month old assistant in the background (whose music class teacher accuses of having “wiggle worms” in his overalls–she also can only communicate in verse), background noise wouldn’t be an issue. Dear Boy caused me a bit of panic back when he was three months old and breastfeeding round the clock.

In that stage, he could be placed on his Boppy pillow and I could continue to work on my computer completely uninterrupted while he fed. I became so immune to his little nursing soundtrack figuring that was the best time to make calls since he wouldn’t fuss at all. Imagine my surprise two minutes into a conversation when an events manager in San Francisco asked nonchalantly how old my little one was, with no prior indication from me that I had a baby. Flustered, I replied, realizing he heard my suckling child loud and clear in California, and he then said, “Oh, my wife and I have a five month old so those sounds are quite familiar.” Needless to say, I weeded his hotel out of the running for our event and got off the phone with a new set of personal phone regulations.

Now along comes a product for the stay-at-home worker or those that just work in smaller offices that want to a) block unintended background noise of dogs, babies and doorbells and/or b) create the illusion of workplace productivity. This CD creates a bustling background of “busy office” sounds like ringing phones, mumbling co-workers and incoming faxes. Two tracks exist depending on how badly you want to want to get off the phone with your client, “Busy” or “Very Busy.”

Thriving Office makes the grandiose claim that no one has ever returned one of their CDs out of dissatisfaction, since they also allege that by creating the myth of a busy office (starring you), you actually will get more work done in the end. The Pioneer Press points out an additional perk as “[giving] comfort to the lonely telecommuter.” Now one thing is for sure.

While I’ve had to mute my line during conference calls when Dear Boy takes over on the drums…

I’ve never been lonely as I’ve ducked work calls to attend to matters of greater importance, like perfecting Yoda’s Halloween strut.

Posted by JL

Entry filed under: Children, Commentary, Embarrassing Moments, JL's Posts, Work.

Who’s on The Cubs Side? Who? Econ 101: The Candy Show

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jana  |  September 24, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    That’s the cutest costume I’ve ever seen.

    Reply
  • 2. lemare  |  September 24, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    I love that the guy could hear the breastfeeding and called you out on it!!!

    I love little Yoda!

    Reply
  • 3. Lowdogg  |  September 25, 2007 at 11:37 am

    Awesome costume. That’s a good looking kid.

    Reply
  • 4. JL  |  September 25, 2007 at 11:43 am

    Yes, LeMare, certainly not the high point of my career…

    The Yoda costume tends to accentuate Dear Boy’s finest feature, his prodigious noggin. A girl at church asked out in the hallway Sunday if he had an “abnormally big head.”

    Reply
  • 5. savvytoddlermom  |  September 25, 2007 at 11:52 am

    First of all, I can TOTALLY relate! My munckin is almost three and I’ve been working from home since he was born. I have had all manner of comments from vendors and clients… “Is that… Little Einsteins?” “Wow, did someone bring their baby to your office?” I have found that most people are pretty understanding, but I can’t help but feel less professional with Elmo’s World running in the background. I’m seriously considering this CD…

    Secondly, can that girl at church have less tact? Who DOES that?

    And third, that is a very, very cute costume. I am starting to think I’m going to get the bottom-of-the-barrel costume as I don’t have one yet for my little guy. Ack!

    Reply
  • 6. Jdon  |  September 25, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Jeanie,
    Can you confirm whether or not they make that costume for 28 year old men?
    -Thanks

    Reply
  • 7. JL  |  September 25, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    Out there in the world, there are other wise men who have asked this same question. Fortunately, you’re in luck, all for the bargain price of $45.95.

    Reply
  • 8. lemare  |  September 25, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    MASSIMO! You better act fast on the yoda costume!

    Reply
  • 10. cburt  |  September 25, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    LOL–Lemare, it the spirit of showing everyone “whose [are] bigger” I think that would be the perfect outfit for our reunion! I dare you! Massimo can be your date.

    Reply
  • 11. cburt  |  September 25, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Back to the subject at hand, though. JL–this is pure brilliance! A must-have for every work-from-home-stay-at-home (not to mention very conflicted) mom. On a side note, I really think we should start a support group for our kind.
    Maybe this CD would at least help to muffle the sounds of “Signing Time” the increasingly frequent tantrums my son throws. Unfortunately I’ve pretty much resorted to allowing him to destroy my home if I have to have conf calls while he’s awake and without a sitter. I’m sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but If you think it’s bad at 15 months…just wait.

    Reply
  • 12. jlow  |  September 28, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    I love you have your own little Yoda, adorable! And the CD really is a must for the work-from-home mom. You might need to turn up the volume on that CD once baby girl comes. My baby girl was quite the chatter-box from day one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,918 hits

