Personalized Plates #1: UP MRKT 2

September 28, 2007 at 1:30 am 18 comments

Myrtle brought up some upsetting experienced with personalized plates and I commented about the man who lives in my building with the most pretentious license plate.  Some (my sister) doubted my veracity, so I bring photographic evidence.

The most horrifyin part is, since he is UP MRKT 2, that means someone ELSE must have UP MRKT 1. 

 UP MRKT License Plate

I call on all IRF readers to arm themselves with camera phones and take photos of all tacky personalized plates and submit them to:  inrareformguestpost at yahoo dot com.   

Posted by LeMare

Entry filed under: A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words, LeMare's Posts, Personalized License Plates.

Guest Post: Notes from the Field Part II I Can Hear You Now – Part V

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kerry  |  September 28, 2007 at 8:37 am

    My favorite was a cute little convertible I saw with the license plate of “Alimony”. Gotta love it!

    Reply
  • 2. JL  |  September 28, 2007 at 9:40 am

    One of my neighbors whose recycling bin on Fridays is always loaded with empty Heinekens has a license plate that says, “ALCHOL.” The tough guy image he’s trying to project is foiled by the stuffed animal mouse he has on his parking brake.

    Reply
  • 3. Lindsay  |  September 28, 2007 at 10:02 am

    My Dad wanted my Uncle to put “I H8 I15” on his license plate to show his feelings about his daily commute, but the state of Utah rejected it as being too inflammatory!

    Reply
  • 4. lemare  |  September 28, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    I’m surprised that the Commonwealth of Virginia let JL’s neighbor get away with ALCHOL. Hopefully that guy never gets pulled over after a visit to the local watering hole. Something tells me that the police would have NO MERCY.

    Reply
  • 5. lemare  |  September 28, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    Actually, hopefully he DOES get pulled over.

    Reply
  • 6. Lindsay  |  September 28, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    I remember seeing a lawyer’s plate, IDFENDU. And a psychologist has the plate, OCDDOC. And I’ll never forget riding as a passenger from Salt Lake to Provo and having the driver exclaim, “BYU BISH!” Can you believe someone would put that on a license plate. That’s awful! To which I popped up and exclaimed, “That’s my uncle!” We loved those plates!

    As tacky as personalized plates can be, I think IRF could have a great time with even tackier bumper stickers.

    Reply
  • 7. lemare  |  September 28, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    You act like it is an either/or proposition, Lindsay. Myrtle has certainly given time to bumper stickers, and we will as they come up…

    But we’re NOT going to let tacky plates slide.

    Reply
  • 8. Lowdogg  |  September 28, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    My Dad used to have a tag MNYMAN, as he is a financial advisor. But that was a little tacky, and also one time he was getting out of his car (a black Corvette) and some unsavory types started saying, “Hey Moneyman, how’s it going?” So now he has NVEST-IT and MKTMAKR, but he sold the car that said MKTMAKR, so now he just has the one vanity plate.

    And I don’t have a problem with it (I also own Crocs).

    Reply
  • 9. TRussell  |  September 28, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    On the money theme – PIMCO will tell you which PIMCO (+ digit) belongs to you and “encourages” you to get a personalized plate to that effect.

    Reply
  • 10. Lowdogg  |  September 28, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    That’s very interesting. Is that on a company vehicle?

    Reply
  • 11. Stephanie  |  September 28, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    A guy I knew in college had “Percious” for his plate. That was also his nickname. For the life of me I can’t remember his real name.

    Reply
  • 12. Stephanie  |  September 28, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    That was precious – sorry for my awful typos 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. JL  |  September 28, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    Speaking of college, there was a 4-Runner in Provo with a plate that said ALMA 32.

    Reply
  • 14. Jen  |  September 29, 2007 at 2:54 am

    Not to ignore the plates, but since bumper stickers were mentioned, I think TRussell has a great idea for a new one to be posted on large trucks, hummers, etc: “My other car is NOT a Prius.” Should we put it to market?

    Reply
  • 15. Lowdogg  |  September 29, 2007 at 6:15 am

    I vote yes.

    Reply
  • 16. cburt  |  September 29, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    I vote yes too.

    Back to plates–I had a couple friends in college who were employed by the state if Illinois to review applications for vanity plates. Brilliant! Who better to catch subtly inappropriate plate than a couple of 22 year old guys?

    Reply
  • 17. Lindsay  |  September 29, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    I can’t believe I forgot the worst plate I have ever seen! Of course it was in Provo, and a young arrogant a** in the ward had a plate that said OBGYN2B. That’s gotta take the cake.

    And TRussell, sign me up for one of those!

    Reply
  • 18. pammyshep  |  October 1, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    There is actually a website dedicated to vanity plates (how fortuitous!). You’ll note that there is a BYU plate at the top of the list, although not creative or snappy: 1BLU BYU. There are also a few vanity plates from Utah… just go down the list.

    http://www-chaos.umd.edu/misc/plates.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,397 hits

