Weekly Wrap-up

October 13, 2007 at 1:02 pm 21 comments

Announcement:

I (LeMare) am out of the closet now about my plans for the future.  I have accepted a job in San Francisco, and will be moving from one blue state to another at the beginning of November.  Chicago and I have had a good run, but it is time to part ways.

The Hoff:

TMZ reports:  “DAVID HASSELHOFF POISONED!” Thanks to PammyGirl for for bringing this important story to our attention.  It looks like he is going to pull through, gratefully.

Search Term Saturday: 

  • slutty pregnant costumes:  My goodness.  This person is going to hell.
  • Shatner +Naked:  Joe Miller, please don’t take this as a challenge with your Photoshop skills.
  • scarlet letter halloween costumes:  Someone really wants to dress as Hester Prynne?  Is this how prudish women who need to cover up celebrate Slutty Halloween?
  • Chairman Mao cross stitch:  Could said sampler really exist?  I WANT one.
  • why girls think its ok to dress slutty on Halloween:  I have no idea.  I blame Party City.
  • slutty eskimo halloween costumes:  I’m trying to picture it, and I’m not liking what I’m seeing.  Isn’t Slutty Inuit more politically correct?
Entry filed under: David Hasselhoff, Weekly Wrap-up.

Guest Post: Ron Paulicy A Very Monster Miller Monday

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sportsattitude  |  October 13, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    LeMare – I will be very interested to hear your thoughts and feelings about SF. The wife and I have always wanted to go there and even talk about the romantic, nomadic notion of pulling up stakes in Philly and heading for San Fran without having positions, carving out employment options upon arrival. Best of luck as you set out on this journey.

    Reply
  • 2. lemare  |  October 13, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    Sportsattitude, I’m really excited about moving to San Fran. My only gripe is that I can’t find a 1BR condo for less than $700K in the areas I wish to live. My advice would be that ONE of you find a job before you up and move!

    PS, quitting my job was much harder than anticipated and ended up being my most draining day in the office to date!

    Reply
  • 3. Sportsattitude  |  October 13, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    LeMare, you nailed the reason why we hesitate to pull the trigger on the “Gold Rush” to San Fran…the cost of living there is off-the-charts. As for stepping down from your current position, that’s always an emotional deal even if you feel 100% you’re headed for something much, much better. Now that the wheels are in motion and it’s full steam ahead to the Left Coast, you’ll get re-energized immediately!

    Reply
  • 4. JL  |  October 13, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    LeMare, at least you know you’ll be well outfitted at your new company. Please alert us all when BR does friends and family discounts!

    Reply
  • 5. lemare  |  October 14, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    Last night I went to High School reunion and when Ex-BF told his wife I was going to work for a certain retailer, she asked me if I was going to be a sales associate or a store manager.

    I JOKED about getting asked that question, but didn’t really think it would happen.

    Reply
  • 6. mikel  |  October 14, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Shouldn’t the HS reunion get a post? Earlier this summer we went to a get together for the class that was a year ahead of me. It was really weird. It made me question going to my own reunion.

    JL forgot to mention that she goes to Alcatraz by herself anytime she is even near SF. So if she heads out to visit you, its really because she wants another tour of her favorite prison.

    Reply
  • 7. pammyshep  |  October 14, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    LeMare… you’re heading out to the Golden State? Most excellent! Congrats!!! How did you find a job while living in Chicago? This is serious… it’s been horrible for me trying to get a job in Cali while not living there.

    Reply
  • 8. lemare  |  October 14, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    Finding a job in CA… well, it kind of fell on my lap. The hardest part was trying to fly out for interviews without my job finding out.

    Reply
  • 9. Jdon  |  October 15, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    CAN ANYBODY PLEASE GIVE ME AN UPDATE ON HASSELHOFF!

    Reply
  • 10. Mari & Derek  |  October 15, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    Hey LeMare, you should have mentioned your big move to the golden state yesterday when I bumped into you! How exciting! You know that Mari and I both grew up in the Bay Area. Let us know if you need any help.

    Reply
  • 11. lemare  |  October 15, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    Sorry, Derek, I think I was just so excited to see little Colin that I forgot all about my OWN news!

    Reply
  • 12. lemare  |  October 15, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Joe Miller, I think he’s recovered, just in time to pretend he’s broke in the divorce proceedings.

    http://www.tmz.com/2006/10/12/estranged-wife-to-the-hoff-up-your-ante/

    Reply
  • 13. TRussell  |  October 15, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    Shout out to Jen for giving the hook up to LeMare, guess its payback for LeMare hooking us up.

    Sportsattitude – the cost of living is NBG. You get used to it. We pay $1375 for a double-wide (apartment). That is severely below market. You are actually looking at about $1900. It is still cheaper to rent than to own, unless you are paying cash or have a huge down payment.

    The weather is great and its fun to be the lone hold out on conservative views.

    Jobs are aplenty out here – what line of work are you in?

    Reply
  • 14. TRussell  |  October 15, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    Also, why do I have Niel Diamond going through my head right now?

    SF’s fine, but it ain’t mine, Chicogo’s mine, but it ain’t mine no more.

    Reply
  • 15. jdon  |  October 15, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Good call on the Neil Diamond. I totally needed that bro.

    Reply
  • 16. lemare  |  October 16, 2007 at 12:22 am

    Yes, Chicago IS home, but ain’t mine no more.

    Brilliance, Timmy, brilliance.

    I now want to go karaoke.

    Reply
  • 17. Sportsattitude  |  October 25, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    TRussell – line of work is Purchasing/Supply Chain/Materials Management. Have seen a decent amount of retail-related stuff in SF (mostly analysis rather than material movements and procurement) but little or no manufacturing (more my speed).

    LeMare – I don’t know if you have a new employer to go with your new job but I just landed a new gig here in the Philly suburbs and just survived – and I mean survived – a pre-employment physical. My confidence in the medical community continues to erode. This could become a new blog…in any event, I hope if you experienced such a “delight” you fared better than I. I am sure I passed…but I lost a few brain cells along the way…

    Reply
  • 18. lemare  |  October 25, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    SportsAttitude, you’re welcome to do a guest post on said pre-employment physical. I had to do no such thing. They want me for my mind 🙂

    Reply
  • 19. TJ Thompson  |  November 1, 2007 at 1:13 am

    WARMING!
    San Francisco Values can induce vomiting in the morally-conscious.

    Reply
  • 20. TJ Thompson  |  November 1, 2007 at 1:13 am

    (If that comment said “WARNING” it would make so much more sense….)

    Reply
  • 21. Lowdogg  |  November 1, 2007 at 9:33 am

    But it all has to do with Global Warmings. ALL OF IT!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,501 hits

