Guest Post: Notes from the Field IV

October 30, 2007 at 11:20 pm 1 comment

Some snippets from the Hollywood mission field:

Trying to stay up on pop culture: I am sure that we have all seen posters for Beowulf!  Guilder’s favorite book, and possibly mine after scripture.  Is it indeed R?  It may be R, just like The Sound of Music should have been with some pretty objectionalbe lyrics, such as “It must have been my wicked childhood” and scenes of great intensity and dancing.

A touch of celebrity:  I should mention that Kobe Bryant‘s personal assistant is in my Relief society.

Remembrances of home:  The other day I was wielding my pink ruler around my head like a battle axe to frighten my companions, and I recalled a time when [little sister] told [Dad] that her “Female” friends were coming to pick her up.  She tried to skulk out the door to get in to a car with two MALE friends, and [Dad] called her on it: “Uh, Nick, how did your two girl friends become boys?  how does that happen?”  He then proceeded to stand in the doorway resting his masculine frame on a sword, plastic covered, but a sword nonetheless, until the scallywags reversed their Dodge neon and left.  Ha!

Picturing her departure:   i should like to take this opportunity to discuss my voyage home.   i have now decided that I shall walk home, in bonnet, just as the pioneers.  Just kidding.  If Dill is up for it, it would be nice to be met with a pressed plush jumpsuit, a Winnebago (or Airstream) and Barry Manilow‘s greatest hits.  i shall provide the snacks and sandwiches.  The Mormon Trek Backwards Revisited shall begin at the Trump Gold Course (I know one of the less-active workers).  Anyway, frivolous details, just know that I shall be greatly disappointed if I end off on an airplane.  Just know that when a mohawked sister appears on your doorstep in a mustard -toned plush suit on, you’ll know it’s me.

Requests to the outside world: Would you be so kind as to send more manny pictures to me, of the process?  My companions keep me up at night with their questions.    The latest phase of the healing process is “Sister Hollywood’s Story Time” during which period I tell stories, one was about Manny, and the sisters need more of a visual than your website print out.

Entry filed under: Film, Fond Memories, Living History, Pop Culture, Random.

IRF PSAs The Lamentations of Lowry – Chapter 1

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jdon  |  October 31, 2007 at 10:39 am

    May I please request that no one send her the Manny pictures? Manny has no place in the work of God!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,397 hits

