The Rain in Spain

November 7, 2007 at 2:49 pm 26 comments

Have you ever had a class experience ruined by a disruptive classmate? The over-commenters, the know-it-alls, those that can’t enunciate their “t’s”? In my case, the culprit combines the first and third categories, rendering the last 12 hours of a certain professional training utterly trying.

After the teacher spells something out in the clearest of terms, this classmate says in a meandering tone, “You mean to tell me that [verbatim repeat of what teacher just said]?

my-fair-lady.jpg

Then, she causes the real grievance by bringing out the Henry Higgins in me. “Even d‘oh dey say it, dey don’t mean it? Dat’s why dey do dat?” With her commenting 30% of the time, this means I’ve been listening to this for 3.6 hours in the last week, not including breaks. What’s an English major to do?

Perhaps remind myself that at least the know-it-all has completed the program and isn’t coming back to class. This woman would ask an insanely long question based on her personal experience as an agent. She would then get an answer from the instructor and whip out, “Yah, I know, that’s what I tell them,” before the instructor was even done with the explanation. After a few sessions, a theme emerged from her client scenarios where she’d always end with, “Yah, I thought they were my friend.” Astute classmates could observe why “friends” became no longer when working with this person.

Posted by JL

Entry filed under: JL's Posts, Living History, Random, Work. Tags: , , .

Because I want to Kick it Dear Clueless

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lemare  |  November 7, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    My mother and I were having a potato-potaw-to conversation the other day and it went a little something like this:

    Some people pronounce “aunt” like “awunt” rather than “ant” and say that ants are little bugs.

    My mom remarked that a fat, uneducated woman she knows who can’t even speak proper english says “awunt”, so my mother will continue to feel completely fine saying “ant”.

    Reply
  • 2. Lindsay  |  November 7, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    More frustrating to me than people not pronouncing their t’s would be the folks that try to be precise and pronounce the t in often. Often is pronounced, “offen” people!!! The dictionary has now added a second pronunciation with the t because no one knows how to say it. I cringe every time I hear “ofTen.” Let me begin changing the world 1 IRF reader at a time!

    Reply
  • 3. JL  |  November 8, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Any viewers of Real Housewives of Orange County? Laurie is planning her wedding to multimillionaire George and explains to her wedding planner that they want guests seated 10 “acrosst.”

    Reply
  • 4. Massimo  |  November 8, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    One can imagine hearing the following in a Sunday School lesson:

    “In his epistles the Apostle Paul shows great love and pas-TO-ral care for his flock. He teaches the saints in co-RINTH about the need for nup-shu-al [nuptial] love and unity. He reminds the Romans that no heighth nor depth will ever separate us from the love of God.”

    At which point I’m ready to “apostasize,” even before anyone has said “patriarticle” [patriarchal] or “paradicicle” [paradisaical].

    Reply
  • 5. critts  |  November 8, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    LOL JL I totally watch that show now! Sadly. I caught the marathon on Bravo the other day. Maret – I’m laughing about your mom – I wonder if she considers me to be one of the fat, uneducated women she knows who pronounces it “awunt”?

    Reply
  • 6. Mikel  |  November 8, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    I have a teacher that says “boyer” instead of “buyer”; “interpernor” for “entrepreneur”; and “jewno” for “you know.” Not really the same, but it drives me crazy and I thought everyone else should know.

    Reply
  • 7. Lowdogg  |  November 8, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    Other classic Mormon (Utah) pronunciation:
    TRAY-zure = treasure
    E-free-um = Ephraim
    RUFF = roof

    Reply
  • 8. JL  |  November 8, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    Lowdogg, one more: MELK=milk

    Reply
  • 9. pammyshep  |  November 8, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    I love it when students “axe” me a question. And I just can’t get enough when my mother explains how she feels “clawsta-phobic” in crowds.

    Lowdogg: I spent 2 years of my life living in beautiful Sanpete County (and I’m not being funny… I love Sanpete County and Snow College) and one of my professors pronounced it “Eff-rum”.

    And don’t forget how the folks in Utah (my peeps, so all said with love) neglect to prounce their Ts in the middle of words:

    Lay-un = Layton
    Cli-un = Clinton

    Reply
  • 10. Lindsay  |  November 8, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    I had a physiology professor that said “yurn” instead of urine. I hated that.

    Reply
  • 11. lemare  |  November 8, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    speaking of urine… it may be time for me to post about my drug test that i took for my job in Big Oil…

    Reply
  • 12. lowdogg  |  November 8, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    Sounds good to me.

    Reply
  • 13. Mikel  |  November 9, 2007 at 11:11 am

    Another professor said “ashume” and “conshume”

    Reply
  • 14. lemare  |  November 9, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    I had a History of Civilization professor who said “it just LITRILLY was” constantly. Critts and I kept a tally.

    Reply
  • 15. SweetPL  |  November 9, 2007 at 1:30 pm

    I had a teacher who pronounced it “MI-zled instead of misled.

    Reply
  • 16. Lowdogg  |  November 9, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    We just had a missionary in my ward who constantly said “What not.” When other people say “like” or “uh” he would say “and what not.”

    He tried to convince me that BMW tried to get the Church to use 3 -series models for missionaries.

    Reply
  • 17. Lindsay  |  November 9, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Another professor used to drone, “Folks, Folks” pronounced “Fulks, Fulks.” And in Utah, people don’t feel, they fill. I too have a friend that says “whatnot” as one word, and she says it ofTen.

    Reply
  • 18. TRussell  |  November 12, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Preaching to the choir on often. I have not mispronounced that word in 11 years and counting.

    Reply
  • 19. Lindsay  |  November 12, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    TRuss, I knew we were related for a reason:)

    Reply
  • 20. chasingtoddlermom  |  November 14, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    As a Chicago transplant to Utah, I could probably write a book on Utahnics. Here are a few of my favorites to add to all of the above noted examples.
    The past tense faux pas: “I says I didn’t want want to…[fill in the blank]” or “I seen that movie.”
    Misuse of possessives: “that is Tyler and My’s car.” Some of you know the certain Utah schoolteacher and frequent offender to whom this is referring.
    “Bull” or “buhl” instead of “bowl.”
    Pray for my children that they will not grow up to speak Utahnics.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Utah_English
    http://www.tek-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=1067553

    Reply
  • 21. chasingtoddlermom  |  November 14, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    How could I forget the “then” vs “than” faux pas? I just don’t understand why this is confusing.

    Reply
  • 22. lemare  |  November 15, 2007 at 3:00 am

    CTM – is it true, that someone (an EDUCATOR, no less) says “Tyler and My’s”????

    I just threw up a little bit in my mouth.

    Reply
  • 23. chasingtoddlermom  |  November 15, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    Yes, sadly it is true. The first time I heard it I thought it must have been a one-time fluke. But alas, I’m sorry to say that it is part of this educator’s lexicon.

    Reply
  • 24. pammyshep  |  November 16, 2007 at 9:29 am

    To stop the Utah bashing for a moment, a former co-worker, who was from Maryland, always said “apprishiate” and “thur” (their). She was in public affairs and spoke like that!

    Reply
  • 25. lemare  |  November 18, 2007 at 4:32 am

    I can’t believe we haven’t talked about Corky St. Clair from Waiting For Guffman yet, “I’m Enry Iggins. Ello, ow are ooo?”

    Reply
  • 26. TRussell  |  November 19, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    LeMare has learned as I have learned that said corky has a vision

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,501 hits

