Illinoise!

November 15, 2007 at 2:24 am 7 comments

Safely in San Francisco and happy about the beautiful November weather, I can’t help but miss Chicago (Stockholm Syndrome?)  Saturday night I sat home alone and heated up a frozen Gino’s East pizza, and read through my Chicago coffee table book.  And the trifecta?  Sufjan Stevens album, Illinoise

For those of you not familiar, Sufjan plans to make an album for every state of the union (I’m not sure about DC).  The first was Michigan, quickly followed by Illinoise, which has some great songs like “Chicago” and “Casimir Pulaski Day“, the latter of which is below.  

Casimir Pulaski Day Lyrics 

Goldenrod and the 4H stone
The things I brought you
When I found out you had cancer of the bone

Your father cried on the telephone
And he drove his car into the Navy yard
Just to prove that he was sorry

In the morning, through the window shade
When the light pressed up against your shoulder
bladeI could see what you were reading

All the glory that the Lord has made
And the complications you could do without
When I kissed you on the mouth

Tuesday night at the Bible study
We lift our hands and pray over your body
But nothing ever happens

I remember at Michael’s house
In the living room when you kissed my neck
And I almost touched your blouse

In the morning at the top of the stairs
When your father found out what we did that night
And you told me you were scared

All the glory when you ran outsideW
ith your shirt tucked in and your shoes untied
And you told me not to follow you

Sunday night when I cleaned the house
I found the card where you wrote it out
With the pictures of you mother

On the floor at the great divide
With my shirt tucked in and my shoes untied
I am crying in the bathroom

In the morning when you finally go
And the nurse runs in with her head hung low
And the cardinal hits the window

In the morning in the winter shade
On the first of March, on the holiday
I thought I saw you breathing

All the glory that the Lord has made
And the complications when I see His face
In the morning in the window

All the glory when He took our place
But He took my shoulders and He shook my face
And He takes and He takes and He takes 

There are some interesting thoughts and analysis on the song meaning if you are so inclined.  What do you think about the song? 

-Posted by LeMare  

Entry filed under: Chicago, LeMare's Posts, Music. Tags: , , , .

Dear Clueless I Can Hear You Now

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  November 15, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    I still fail to see what it has to do with Casimir Pulaski Day. What that day means to me is that we used to get out of school for it. And it means as a parent that happily, they now take my kids at school that day. That day has worked out well for me.

    Reply
  • 2. lemare  |  November 15, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    The day she died: “On the first of March, on the Holiday”

    Incidentally, the Cardinal (which hit the window) is the Illinois State bird.

    Reply
  • 3. lowdogg  |  November 16, 2007 at 1:55 am

    Something tells me that Surfjan’s album “Floridaze” will not be the next one.

    Reply
  • 4. Lindsay  |  November 16, 2007 at 10:45 am

    I dislike sad songs. I don’t need to impose artificial grief on myself!

    Reply
  • 5. TRussell  |  November 16, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    LeMare-
    We would have saved you from a lonely first weekend had we known you had already arrived.

    Although, sometimes we need a frozen pizza weekend in the autumns of our lives to contrast it with the beach front property springs of our lives – which is right around the corner for you.

    Reply
  • 6. liz stanley  |  November 16, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    i’m obsessed with sufjan. seriously. i’ve listened to him non stop for what, like two YEARS now? pretty pathetic. and i’ve seen him live 3 times in nyc. best concerts i’ve ever been too. oh that song above is really easy to play on the guitar- i think i found the tab online.

    Reply
  • 7. Sportsattitude  |  November 20, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    LeMare – glad to hear you are relocated to SF, but so sorry to hear you had to settle for frozen pizza. That’s just wrong (coming from someone who could eat fresh pizza daily if I wanted to accelerate my demise). By the way, I hope that cardinal who hit the window in the song turned out ok. Sometimes, it’s just a glancing blow for our feathered friends rather than a direct, head-on, “wish I had an air bag” deal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,281 hits

