Romney’s “JFK” Speech

December 6, 2007 at 5:20 pm 15 comments

So, there is a bit of buzz about Mitt Romney’s speech about Faith in America.    He gave the speech this morning at the George Bush Presidential Library in College Station, TX, and many are comparing it to JFK’s speech of a similar tone.

 “Let me assure you that no authorities of my church, or of any other church for that matter, will ever exert influence on presidential decisions,” Romney said at the George Bush Presidential Library and Museum, 90 miles from Kennedy’s speaking site in Houston. “Their authority is theirs, within the province of church affairs, and it ends where the affairs of the nation begin.”

He added: “If I am fortunate to become your president, I will serve no one religion, no one group, no one cause and no one interest. A president must serve only the common cause of the people of the United States.” 

 

Did anyone watch the speech?  What were your thoughts? 

Entry filed under: Mitt Romney, Politics. Tags: , .

Guest Post: Let IRF Do the Thinking for You The Pregnant Mind

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mikel  |  December 6, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    Perfect tone. I think he did just right. This was a HUGE gamble. It could have come out all wrong. Defending the values of the country and discussing the founding of the nation struck the perfect tone. He was confident, emotional, and perhaps most of all he was presidential. Well done. The best he has sounded in months.

    Reply
  • 2. ian in hamburg  |  December 6, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    I think he should go back to France and try it once again door-to-door and see how far it gets him. Frankly, the guy scares me.

    Reply
  • 3. TRussell  |  December 6, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    I read the text and it resonated with me. I loved the tone he brought and I think it was inspiring.

    I like the ending where he talked about the congressional delegates and their decision to pray.

    Weaving our religious heritage and the need for religion today was a fantastic message that I think many will identify with.

    I felt like it was unifying much like how we were unified as a nation after 9/11.

    Reply
  • 4. JL  |  December 6, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    Have to agree with Joe Scarborough (MSNBC) that Mitt “hit it out of the ballpark.” Watching his stirring address made me realize that not only could this man be our next president but he would be an exceptional one. Just like no one expected an actress who starred in Legally Blonde to take home an Oscar for Walk the Line, so should the skeptics watch and learn as W. Mitt Romney storms the White House.

    My family paid close attention to this address and some of their observations were:

    Governor Romney gave a brilliant articulation covering religious freedom, religious tolerance,and the role of faith in America today. Anyone prospectively attacking Romney for his religion or failing to vote for him just because of that religion effectively reveals a severe case of religious bigotry.

    I will vote for Hillary if Huckster gets the nomination. Call me a bigot but anyone who views the role of President as divinely appointed, will not get my vote!

    This article by the Christian Belief Network said:

    Bottom line: With an American President introducing him, American flags behind him, family hugs on stage and a speech written by him that was delivered from his heart, this day could indeed turn out to be the beginning of Mitt Romney’s ascension to the Presidency. All the candidates wish they could capture a moment like this. But they aren’t Mormon. In that way, maybe, in a way, Romney’s Mormonism could actually end up helping him rather than hurting him.

    Reply
  • 5. lemare  |  December 7, 2007 at 2:23 am

    Patrick Buchanan was VERY impressed:

    http://www.worldnetdaily.com/staticarticles/article59079.html

    “If Mitt Romney wins the Republican nomination, it will be due in large measure to his splendid and moving defense of his faith and beliefs delivered today at the George Bush Presidential Library.”

    Reply
  • 6. lowdogg  |  December 7, 2007 at 6:38 am

    Why does he scare you Ian?

    I thought the speech was great, especially this part:
    There are some for whom these commitments are not enough. They would prefer it if I would simply distance myself from my religion, say that it is more a tradition than my personal conviction, or disavow one or another of its precepts. That I will not do. I believe in my Mormon faith and I endeavor to live by it. My faith is the faith of my fathers – I will be true to them and to my beliefs.
    Some believe that such a confession of my faith will sink my candidacy. If they are right, so be it.

    Buchanan really liked that part, calling it the kind of defiance Americans can’t hear enough of.

    Reply
  • 7. Jana  |  December 7, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    ian in hamburg — are you “letters” from a previous post and comment strain?

    Reply
  • 8. lemare  |  December 7, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    Even the folks in San Francisco couldn’t find anything bad to say about it:

    http://www.examiner.com/a-1090548~Romney_stands_fast_on_faith_and_Mormonism.html

    Reply
  • 9. lowdogg  |  December 7, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    Ian & Letters are one in the same.

    His picture makes me think of the principal from Ferris Bueller.

    Reply
  • 10. Stephanie  |  December 7, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Thanks for posting- my sound was messed up yesterday so I was unable to hear it live.

    I thought he did a fabulous job. Loved how he brought in some of the country’s religious history. I thought it was very moving.

    Reply
  • 11. ian in hamburg  |  December 8, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    The principal from Ferris Bueller! Yes, he was charged with something. Are you implying guilt by association?

    Reply
  • 12. lowdogg  |  December 8, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    Sorry. I knew the comparison might bring that up. The resemblance is just at first glance. And no, no inference intended.

    Reply
  • 13. lemare  |  December 8, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    I didn’t know about the charges. I just looked that up! But he’s made movies since then. Apparently NOTHING will ruin your career in hollywood.

    Reply
  • 14. Sportsattitude  |  December 11, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    I believe the general consensus is it was a solid speech, but I think the fact he gave it at all lended credibility to a “problem” he didn’t necessarily have towards getting nominated. On the other hand, there’s little doubt certain aspects of his beliefs would be drilled down into early and often should he capture the party’s nomination, so if the speech was positioned as a pre-emptive strike prior to that scenario, it probably was in fact a great move. Seems to me the other party candidates are already doing a great job of sinking themselves.

    Reply
  • 15. Lindsay  |  December 11, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    If he scares Ian in Hamburg, I think that just sealed my vote!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,404 hits

