The Pregnant Mind

December 8, 2007 at 9:23 pm 4 comments

Did you know that pregnant women have a good excuse for not remembering anything?  A factoid from BabyCenter reveals that pregnant women experience forgetfulness 15 percent more than nonpregnant women, but thankfully, memory returns after delivery.

This just explains so much of the last few months (namely an incident at the local Safeway last week) and will continue to justify any mental sloppiness leading up to my due date.  This incident of which I speak proved that my mind is not running at full speed.  After loading up Tiny Tot into his car seat, I drove all the way home before realizing I’d left my full cart of groceries in the parking lot.  Brilliant.  Since our Safeway has a reputation as The Un-Safeway, I prepped myself for the loss of six bags (“whomever stole them probably really needed them”) as I sped back to try and recover them.

And there they were, sitting gloriously untouched in the cart pavillion.  Lesson learned and sympathies extended to women whose memories aren’t fully restored until their baby is two months old and they drive away forgetting that their baby’s in the car seat on top of the car.  Let’s hope the pregnant mind stays sharp enough to avoid that critical mistake…

Entry filed under: Children, Commentary, Embarrassing Moments, JL's Posts, Random. Tags: , .

Romney’s “JFK” Speech Miller Monday – A Post for the Unprotected

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lemare  |  December 8, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    JL, I will add this to my list of prayers: Don’t let JL’s pregnant brain endanger the lives of her offspring.

    Reply
  • 2. TRussell  |  December 9, 2007 at 2:29 am

    Please make sure to refer to her as “JL” in your prayers

    Reply
  • 3. Lindsay  |  December 11, 2007 at 9:09 pm

    I will remember to avoid any health care providers who are with child. And I will hope my children don’t have pregnant teachers–my children could end up mindless robots. What if we ended up with a pregnant president. The possibilities are frightening.

    Reply
  • 4. critts  |  December 11, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Um…can pregnancy brain still exist 5 months post-partum? Because I’m definitely just as absent-minded now as I was then.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,281 hits

