Movie Review: National Treasure: Book of Secrets

December 28, 2007 at 2:06 pm 3 comments

JL was priviliged to catch a sneak peek of this epic film, while the rest of us had to pay full price to see it with the rest of America.  But no matter when you saw it, if you liked the FIRST National Treasure, it’s sequel will not dissapoint.

IRF gave you the scoop about the filming months ago, upon the very inception of this blog.  This was on the very day when JL wrote the check to become a “Friend of Mt. Vernon” and when I used my cell phone camera to scoop the Washington Post on this very important story.  I will tell you that the very cell phone photo IRF provided gives you a glimpse into a key (albeit not action-packed) part of the film.

 I enjoyed it, despite my usual apathy toward Nicholas Cage.  It was a tale of redemption, fighting for a family name.  It also achieved the impossible task of making history seem cool to young, impressionable minds.  No one, since Indiana Jones, has attempted such a feat.  National Treasure 1 and 2 will not have the same “staying power” as the Harrison Ford’s epic films, but it kept me entertained, and my nine year-old nephew went and saw it again the next day.

Sure, it was predictable, and not remarkably different from the first one, but I have to admit, when the movie left it open for a third in the series, I found myself getting excited, and wondering when it will come out.  Of course, this kid-at-heart already thought history was cool…

Three and a half stars.

 -Posted by LeMare

Entry filed under: Film, LeMare's Posts, Living History. Tags: , , , .

Happy Christmas Theoretical Mitt

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lowdogg  |  December 30, 2007 at 12:35 am

    I enjoyed this one, but not as much as the first. The first one was a great surprise, this one more derivative.

    What is with Nicholas Cage’s hair? Hair plugs?

    I’d give it 3 stars.

    Reply
  • 2. Sportsattitude  |  January 2, 2008 at 11:12 am

    The wife and I may have gotten into these flicks except for the fact we tuned into the NBC show “Treasure Hunters” a season or so ago. Reality show where a bunch of folks “just like us” were chasing clues all over the place trying to make some cash. The production values sent me into convulsions but my spouse had me hang in throughout the entire run. I think my experience with it kept me from getting into these films…but perhaps the stain from watching that series might fade with time and we’ll venture into Nicholas’ chase, whether he’s “plugging” or not.

    Reply
  • 3. JL  |  January 8, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    If I had internet access set up yet at my new house, this would have been posted long ago. SO, when I saw National Treasure II on Christmas Eve, who should be next to me in the popcorn line headed into the same flick but Terry McAuliffe, who I believe is Hillary’s campaign manager. Perhaps he should have been in Iowa instead preventing Obama’s rise.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,690 hits

