Gift ideas for 2008

January 9, 2008 at 4:39 pm 6 comments

Now that the holidays are OVER, I have finally decided that people buy too many gift cards.  I decided to compile a list of gifts that I’ve received or contemplated giving for the person who is too picky for you to buy them clothes, they have all of life’s basic necessities, and they tend to appreciate small things that are slightly special or indulgent.  Here are some great gift ideas for birthdays in 2008. 

 

For the Bather Kai Body Buffer .  Oprah’s stamp of approval led my sister and brother in law to purchase this for me.  It’s glorious and perfectly indulgent for that special “bather” in your life.  I wonder if Alan Greenspan has one?   Aqua Glow Tub Light:  My mother was so inspired to get me an underwater, color changing light for my bath tub.  So trashy!  One of my favorite gifts ever!   

For the Candle-phile

 I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  Candles don’t get any better than Slatkin.  You can purchase at Neiman Marcus, Bergdorf Goodman, Saks 5th Avenue, and some nicer boutiques.  I use a Holiday scent during Christmas and my signature scent the rest of the year is Bamboo & Jasmine.  You really can’t go wrong with any of their scents.  The candle burns forever and fills your home with scent like no other candle.  You’ll never buy Yankee again. 

 

   

For the Cook

 Cook Book:  Apples for Jam  .  This is a Beautiful cookbook with pictures and stories, delicious recipes, all arranged by color.    Oils & Vinegars:  Ta-Ze sells some of the nicest olive oils and vinegars on the market.  You can sign the special someone up for the Olive Oil of the Month Club (and any self-respecting foodie would love this—not at all like the “Jelly of the Month Club” that burdened Clark Griswold.  A couple of my favorite items:

Eolia

BR Cohn’s 15 Year Aged Balsamic Vinegar

La Favorita Artichoke and Garlic Cream

   For the Letter-writerVera Wang makes some beautiful note cards perfect for a “thank you” or just a note that you’re thinking of someone.  Handwritten notes NEVER go out of style.    For the Journal-writer

Jenni Bick sells these fun suede journals. 

  

Also these beautiful leather embossed journals are a bit more masculine: 

    For the Organization Freak Crane sells the most beautiful file folders.  Too pricey for your average person to spend on folders for themselves, but the PERFECT gift because they wouldn’t have it already, wouldn’t buy it for themselves, but would love to have!  

 For the Traveler 

 

Globe:  No matter the age or style or financial status, there is a globe to fit everyone’s personality.  From the Globe Rubik’s World on my desk at work to my new cherry floor model, and everything in between.  Globe’s ALSO make wonderful, educational gifts for children. 

Westminster 16

Posted by LeMare

Entry filed under: LeMare's Posts. Tags: .

I’m Against Change Pre-Marital Ring Woes

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mari  |  January 9, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Thank you for this post! I, for one, am vehemently opposed to gift-card giving. And although this doesn’t make me a good gift giver, per se, I appreciate it when others recognize that giving a gift takes consideration and a little bit of personal research… which is not something that generally happens when the last-minute gift card is purchased.

    I think I read someone who shares my sentiments about this particular issue here:
    http://articles.moneycentral.msn.com/SavingandDebt/FindDealsOnline/GiftCardsAreNotGifts.aspx

    I particularly like the tub light. I like it so much, I actually clicked on the link. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Sportsattitude  |  January 9, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    A very tasteful and thoughtful post as we begin our gift shopping for Christmas 2008…with the recession coming, let’s get out there and shop people! We can’t let the terrorists win…you know, the CEO’s of the Fortune 100. I gotta check out these Slatkin candles. (Ok, shoot me…I’m a straight guy who likes candles.)

    Reply
  • 3. Shari  |  January 11, 2008 at 3:10 am

    I like your list…..I like the tub light – you put it in the tub – under the water? hmmmm. Great in a nice jacuzzi. I have a suggestion for you, we just went on line (small company run by a group of women) called my stone company, with a great new gift “the friendship stone” beautifully packaged for friends and loved ones….now with valentines on the way….plus it is a give back gift.
    And you don’t have to get a loan to buy one! I think that you will like it!
    http://www.thefriendshipstone.com

    Reply
  • 4. Massimo  |  January 11, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Note to IRF readers: I welcome gift cards. That way I can buy the faux-elitist bric-a-brac I actually want.

    Reply
  • 5. Kerry  |  January 11, 2008 at 11:05 am

    I can’t believe both our gifts to you made it in your blog — awesome! Now, the pressure is on to find a blog-worthy present again next year!

    Reply
  • 6. lowdogg  |  January 11, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    I like Crane products. We use it for our office letterhead and envelopes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,970 hits

