Farewell President Hinckley

January 28, 2008 at 12:01 am 6 comments

President Gordon B. Hinckley of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has just passed away.I wrote about it briefly on my blog.I am sure there will soon be many far worthier tributes. This would be a great place to share your thoughts.       

Entry filed under: Current Events. Tags: , .

Breaking News: Heath Ledger Dies in NYC Apt! Miller Monday – The Truth About Hillary

6 Comments Add your own

  • 2. TRussell  |  January 28, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Thanks for posting that video clip Maret – very touching to see that.

    My good friend from growing up called me last night to tell me the news. I think the reason why he called me is because the two of us came of age under his leadership. It was under his tenure the two of us went through our years of seminary, gained our own beliefs and knowledge that he was a prophet and that Jesus is the Christ. We were called on missions under his leadership and came home from them under his leadership. My parents were sealed by him in the temple and it was he who was the prophet when each of us got married.

    In a sense, it is the end of an era, something that says that the next generation of the church must carry on in proclaiming the gospel of Jesus Christ to the world.

    I stand with him and publicly acknowledge my witness that Jesus Christ is the promised Messiah. What a blessing the life of Gordon B. Hinckley has been to the church and to me personally.

    Tim Jacobson

    Reply
  • 3. Sportsattitude  |  January 28, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    Because of my new-found IRF friends of the Mormon faith, I did take note to read his obit and was impressed with how much the religion has grown outside of the U.S. under his guidance. Sounds like a leader who will be sorely missed but certainly leaves a legacy second to none. My condolences.

    Reply
  • 4. lemare  |  January 29, 2008 at 12:14 am

    T Russell and Sportsattitude, thank you for your comments.

    I suppose my thoughts about his passing are selfishly sad, but happy for him. He missed his wife. And I can’t think of a better way to meet my Maker than to have led a Christ-like life of love and service. May we ALL strive to “Stand a Little Taller”
    http://standalittletaller.com/

    Reply
  • 5. JL  |  January 29, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    This tribute from Glenn Beck was very touching:

    http://www.glennbeck.com/content/articles/article/200/5127/

    Reply
  • 6. RPK  |  February 1, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    I think he left quite an amazing legacy and molded a generation. “What can I say more?”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,388 hits

