Just Doing My Part

January 29, 2008 at 5:27 pm 17 comments

Up until last Tuesday I had not contributed any money to the Presidential race. I rebuffed a call from the National GOP people (I had to hang up on the overzealous caller), knowing that I wanted to know who I would be supporting with my dinero. Finally, last Tuesday, Mitt got some of my lettuce for his Media Victory Fund. Regardless of the outcome of today’s primary, I am glad to have done so.

I had lunch today with some conservative friends. Aside from chatter about Gainesville’s new city ordinance mandating protections for transgender folks, we coalesced on our support for Mitt. One, a Baptist, has been convinced away from Huckabee and McCain by me and some other friends. Another jumped on the Romney-train as soon as Fred Thompson left the race. By our different paths we have all come to believe in Mitt.

I haven’t voted yet. I’ll provide my on-the-scene report when I do. Gainesville is a smaller city, a liberal hot-bed, but we’ll see what is happening around 5pm.

Here’s hoping for Mitt to pull this off.

Entry filed under: Mitt Romney, Politics. Tags: , .

Miller Monday – The Truth About Hillary Scoop: J-Lo Giving Birth

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lowdogg  |  January 29, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    So it was pretty anticlimactic. I waited 2 minutes, bubbled my scan-tron, and left.
    Go Mitt!

    Reply
  • 2. TRussell  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    McCain is pulling away with this one – betting sites are all over him.

    https://www.intrade.com/jsp/intrade/contractSearch/

    Reply
  • 4. TRussell  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    This story got the bears on Mitt running for cover – this is a minute by minute race…

    http://abcnews.go.com/PollingUnit/Vote2008/story?id=4211960&page=1

    Reply
  • 5. Kerry  |  January 29, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Go Mitt!!!!!

    Reply
  • 6. lowdogg  |  January 29, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    It seems clear that McCain has won, but 35 is no mandate, He said some garbage about being the clear uniter. I don’t think winning 1/3 of the vote makes you a clear anything.

    Reply
  • 7. lemare  |  January 29, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    No, it was very close–i’m sure the independents put him over the edge.

    But what do you think? It’s a LOT of delegates to lose. What do you think Mitt’s chances are in a national election? Does McCain have it in the bag? Am I going to have to hold my nose and vote for him?

    When is Ron Paul going to back out? Huckabee? Giuliani is talking about backing out and probably to endorse McCain.

    Reply
  • 8. Gwatt  |  January 30, 2008 at 7:14 am

    To “lemare”–Please what ever you do don’t hold your nose and vot for McCain just because he might look like he has it in the bag. I will be voting for Mitt the whole way. I am not easily swayed by where the popular vote is going. Mitt needs our continued support to stay in the game. He doesn’t need voters that are rocking to which ever side looks hotter. He still has a good chance. There are alot of people who are upset with Rudy’s decison to back McCain. They are saying they are dissapointed in him now and that they are now putting their vote towards Romney. Hopefully the rest of the nation can see right through McCain and how he in no way supports what the Republican party believes in. Romney is our only hope in turning this country around. Hang in there and vote “MITT”. Your vote will still count. I feel mine counted yesterday because he still wasn’t too far behind McCain in the Florida race yesterday. Oh and by the way on FOX news they said that there is still a chance that Florida may give out the rest of their delegates and if they do…..Mitt will get some for coming in 2nd and that will really toss things around bit. Lets pray they do!

    Reply
  • 9. Gwatt  |  January 30, 2008 at 7:17 am

    I just realized after writing my comment that did you mean holding your nose in the general election if McCain were the candidate? If so, please disregard everything I just said. If that is the case I will be holding my nose too.

    Reply
  • 10. lemare  |  January 30, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    Gwatt, thank you for your comments, but yes, I was referring to the general election. Though a republican vote in California hardly matters…

    Reply
  • 11. lemare  |  January 30, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Do any of you think that Mitt running the “comparative” ads that some people call “negative” hurt his chances? The rest of the candidates hate him because of it… so perhaps that’s why you have Huckabee staying in to ruin his chances, Rudy backing McCain, etc… Thoughts?

    Reply
  • 12. Sportsattitude  |  January 30, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I am fully convinced Huckabee is hanging around simply because he has been promised a large role in a McCain cabinet or staff. His existence in the race at this point is simply to make sure Romney does not win. Likely, he is being propped up by the party leaders who for whatever reason feel McCain gives Republicans the best chance against Hillary. A few days ago…there seemed to be so many people to listen to and select from in both parties…it was encouraging to hear multiple voices debating the issues and presenting opposing points of view, etc. Now, it seems in the blink of an eye it has already been decided to be McCain vs. Clinton come Fall. Once more I find myself thinking that of all the millions of people in this country who could be President of the United States…how in the world did we come up with John McCain and Hillary Clinton? What kind of choices are these for the future? I got involved in politics again for this???

    Reply
  • 13. Gwatt  |  January 31, 2008 at 6:59 am

    I am with Glen Beck on what he thinks of Mike Huckabee. Yesterday he was very bold and called him “a mormon biget”. I think he is still in for a couple of reasons: This former baptist preacher doesn’t want to see a “mormon” in the White House” and he is in with MaCain some how. They are way to cordial with each other. If Mike Huckabee were to drop out I guarantee you the majority of those votes would go towards Romney. And if he were to drop out and back McCain his conservative followers would think he had turned his back on conservativism…..so he has decided to just sit there and pretend he has a chance and spoil things. He was pathetic in last nights debate asking for questions. Mike Huckabee and Ron Paul have no buisness runnng now. They are just wasting money and messing up the vote. It is clearly a close race between Romney and McCain.
    What do you think about “Arnold’s” endorsement of McCain that will be happening today?
    I think with all the endorsements McCain has gotten, Romney is still showing a strong stance and that means something. Oh and Lemare your vote does mean something because whether McCain wins California or not Romney will be able to pick up votes from Congretional Districts he wins. I still think he has a good chance to catch up to McCain. In the Rasmussen Poll from last night they showed Romney only 4% behind McCain. He is gaining! That seems to be Romney’s trend. He is steadly climbing his way up.
    I hope people saw during last nights debate how untruthful McCain is. He lied in front and to everyone. Is this the kind of political leader we need?

    Reply
  • 14. lowdogg  |  January 31, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Mark Steyn has some nice criticism of McCain’s anti-business rhetoric:

    http://corner.nationalreview.com/post/?q=MDEzYzkxNDMzMWNlOTBiYWZhY2FiZjUzOWYyMjdlNGU=

    I was talking to Gwatt (my sister) and agreed that McCain seems smarmy and thinks he deserves the presidency.

    Question: What’s the only thing worse than a fake war hero acting as if that qualifies him for the Presidency?

    Answer: A real one doing it.

    Reply
  • 15. Massimo  |  January 31, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    LeMare, no holding of the nose for me. I will never vote for McCain. I don’t vote for anti-capitalist, speech-abridging slanderers, as a rule.

    Reply
  • 16. Massimo  |  January 31, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    I’m not big on sanctimonious hypocrites, either: http://www.azstarnet.com/sn/byauthor/166271

    Reply
  • 17. RPK  |  February 1, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    I threw in with Romney many months ago and they won’t let me forget about it. Recidivism isn’t necessarily just for criminals, I suppose. It’s also (apparently) something campaigns push for with their contributors. Fortunately, I’m glad to have put my ball o-cash into Mitt’s glove. Thanks to McCain-Feingold, however, I feel much safer about giving contributions. Wait, no, I meant to say since McCain-Feingold, I think McCain is a complete hack. …that’s what I meant to say.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,281 hits

