Enough

February 13, 2008 at 10:12 pm 8 comments

Only after toppling over the babysitter’s mailbox Saturday night while backing up in her driveway did I realize I’ve hit the point of no return with this pregnancy.  The point where I’m a hazard to myself and others the more I’m out and about in public.  The point where even the back up “beep” on my Jeep can’t prevent me from hitting inanimate objects.  The point where I’m voting for Hillary Clinton in a primary.  Yes, it’s time to start my maternity leave from the world even though the baby’s not even here yet.

When grocery store clerks and strangers begin commenting, “Whoa, any day now,” you know it’s obvious to the world you’ve had it and you just want to be delivered from your 40 week (physical and mental) state of pregnancy.

bout-to-pop.jpg

So what other choice do I have but to try to self-induce with black licorice, raspberry leaf herbal tea, power walks around the mall, Mexican bean pizza with extra jalepenos and shocking exposés about Joran Van Der Sloot featuring a fired up Greta Van Susteren?  Nothing is working! I’m saving the castor oil for next week.

Entry filed under: Children, JL's Posts. Tags: , , .

Spare Me My Life Did Someone Say My Name?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lemare  |  February 14, 2008 at 1:20 am

    JL, I have no idea what it is like to be “with child” but you have my sincere condolences!

    If “On The Record” doesn’t induce labor, I don’t know what will!

    Reply
  • 2. Sportsattitude  |  February 14, 2008 at 6:17 am

    JL, I have no idea what it is like to be “with child” either but, like LeMare, you have my sincere condolences as well. I must admit, voting for Hillary is a definite sign you have, in fact, become a tad bit of a danger to the general populace. Then again, if I was a female and “with child” and someone said “whoa, any day now” to me I think I would surely strike them down with anything I could get my hands on…including a Jeep.

    Reply
  • 3. Lowdogg  |  February 14, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Hang in there.

    Reply
  • 4. critts  |  February 14, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    JL – I feel your pain. At the end of my pregnancy one of the men in our ward decided to say to me one Sunday “My goodness girl, you’re huge, let that kid out already!” It was not my finer moment in life. Have you tried Evening Primrose Oil too? And don’t forget Nancy Grace on Headline News…I’m certain her voice could send anyone into labor. Good luck!

    Reply
  • 5. savvytoddlermom  |  February 14, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Spare yourself the castor oil… I have it on good authority that it doesn’t do a thing and it tastes AWFUL. My SIL is a labor & maternity nurse and she recommends lots of walking. Walking, walking, walking…

    Reply
  • 6. TRussell  |  February 14, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Listen to T-Rex and follow instructions accordingly. Nuff said.

    Reply
  • 7. jlow  |  February 16, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    I loved getting asked at the end of my pregnancy if I was having twins by every person I crossed paths with! Good luck with the self-inducing. Let me know what worked. If it makes you feel any better, I will be in your shoes at kk’s wedding this summer:)

    Reply
  • 8. Pammy Girl  |  February 17, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Is it sad to say that I actually forgot you were pregnant? I don’t see you in class anymore so the thought just slipped my mind. So sorry. I suppose it could be worse… you could have toximia or pre-clampsia OR you could be defending your thesis.

    If you’re trying to go into labor, I’ve had plenty of friends get on their hands and knees and clean the kitchen floor. Then there’s the ‘go on a long walk’ theory. I’ve never been pregnant and it doesn’t sound the least bit pleasant. I just read that eating certain herbs does it, too (Blue and black cohosh) as well as sitting on a yoga/pilates/exercise ball with your legs spread to ‘open’ your hip cavity and encourage your baby to sit as deeply as it can. Actually, that one sounds a little hokey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,068 hits

