Guest Post: My Out of Body Experience Or the Low Budget Parent Trap

May 26, 2008 at 9:17 pm 11 comments

JL and I were guests at a wonderful wedding this weekend. As a male, I dreaded the thought of attending said wedding. However, much good came of the event. Friday evening we were special guests at the rehearsal dinner hosted at Maggiano’s Little Italy. We mixed and mingled for about an hour before dinner and one guest, a man, caught my eye.

He was seated at the table diagonal ours so I could stare at him throughout the meal. Then, around the entree, it hit me. I didn’t know if I should say anything, at the risk of embarrassing myself. At first I thought of mentioning something to the guest next to me, as a sort of trial balloon. Instead, I swallowed my pride, leaned over to my wife and said, “That guy looks like he could be my brother.” Since she can’t/doesn’t want to hear anything I say, she responded, “He doesn’t look like Jon.” So I spelled it out, “He looks just like me. I haven’t been able to take my eyes off him all night.”

“You’re right,” she shouted. I was fascinated and totally freaked out.

JL raced over to his table and shared my thoughts with his entire table, he sort of agreed but was definitely uncomfortable.

Then, I turned to the side and it hit him too, just like Haley Mills, or Lindsay Lohan for you kids.

After dinner, we started to talk and things got weirder. We really hit it off. My twin is like 7 years younger than me, but he’s majoring in Economics and we talked about Financial Econ till the sun came up. Well, not quite, but we could have. Needless to say, a little more “me” was all the weekend needed. I had a great time, I swept myself off my feet. As we parted ways in the hotel Saturday night I said, “There goes one handsome guy.”

-ML

*Parent Trap photo from Amazon.com.

Entry filed under: Fond Memories, Living History, Random, Travel.

Remember FREE!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jana  |  May 26, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    That is frightening and too funny! I like how you say you couldn’t take your eyes off him all night. It’s like admitting to us all that you find yourself stunningly attractive. Did you exchange emails? Is he now your friend on facebook?

    Reply
  • 2. funtimenicki  |  May 26, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    So let’s tally the people that Mike looks like. There’s the “can you hear me now?” guy, there’s the guy in the apple mac poster, then there’s my personal favorite Buster Bluth, and then to top it off there’s that new guy at Christina’s wedding. You’ve married a renaissance man!

    Reply
  • 3. Andria  |  May 26, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Crazy! Best line of that post was “I swept myself off my feet…”

    Reply
  • 4. Mary Ellen  |  May 27, 2008 at 12:16 am

    HAHAHA Hilarious.

    Reply
  • 5. Lowdogg  |  May 27, 2008 at 10:06 am

    A great story.

    Reply
  • 6. JL  |  May 27, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    In a way it kind of felt like an episode of Lost. Eerie coincidences, worlds colliding, no one quite sure of the meaning…

    Reply
  • 7. Pammy Girl  |  May 27, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Way better than when Joey went to Vegas and found his identical hand twin!

    Reply
  • 8. lemare  |  May 27, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    uncanny resemblance! unfair that two men in this world should be so handsome.

    Reply
  • 9. critts  |  May 27, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    I think that is hilarious! And I love that JL decided to tell your twin!

    Reply
  • 10. bedelia  |  May 27, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Freakonomics!

    Reply
  • 11. Sportsattitude  |  May 27, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    Separated at birth? That’s just wild.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,918 hits

