Movie Review: Dark Knight

July 19, 2008 at 12:44 pm 11 comments

IRF is always in the know.  Between showing you behind the scenes pictures of Oscar Parties and American Idol Backstage passes, we have also brought you pictures of important movies being filmed, such as National Treasure (at Mt Vernon) and last summer, we told you of Batman – Dark Knight being filmed outside my apartment in Chicago.

Last night, I joined in with the pack to see the film (which will have one of the most successful opening weekends of all time).  I purchased my tickets 12 hours ahead of time, and showed up an hour and a half early to get in line outside the theater.  Did I do it for my love of Christian Bale?  Was it an homage to the late Heath Ledger?  No, my urgency in seeing the film was that I knew it was chalk-full of Chicagoness and I’m painfully homesick.

The Chicago scenes did not disappoint.  I was pleased to see the scenes that included the inside pictures I shared with you last August.  It was great.  Christian Bale is delicious and when he’s dressed like batman, he talks like GOB from Arrested Development.  The whole time I was giggling about the scene when Will Arnett and Alec Baldwin were having a face off on 30 Rock and both talking in their Batman voices and Tina Fey comes up and says, “Maybe we can settle it with a talking like this contest.”

Voice and tastiness of Christian Bale aside, let me reiterate how much I adore Morgan Freeman.  He’s great, as he is in every movie.  There was a scene when a smug little lawyer was trying to blackmail Wayne Enterprises and Morgan Freeman’s smug little smile was priceless.

The acting, action, and Chicago scenes all had me happy… My only critique is that it should have ended 40 minutes earlier, in the hospital, as it would have set it up there perfectly for the next movie.  Alas, I had Swedish Fish to keep me happy, so no REAL complaints.  Go see it. If nothing else, it will remind you of the mob presence in Chicago politics as you evaluate other Chicago politicians…

Entry filed under: Chicago, Film, LeMare's Posts. Tags: , , .

Klassy with a capital K RIP, Sophia. This slice is for you.

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lowdogg  |  July 19, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    I jealous. I won’t be able to see this one until Monday.

    Reply
  • 2. Sportsattitude  |  July 20, 2008 at 7:18 am

    Saw it Friday and have had a couple of days to ponder it…background…I only saw Michael Keaton play the role of Batman so this was my first one since, not seeing any of the others including the first Bale venture. I thought he was fabulous (better than Keaton by a country mile) – all the acting was fabulous (even with it being too, too long) – with the notable exception of Maggie G. I’m just not that into her and I think her character is the weak link of the movie, jumping from man to man in the half-blink of an eye…and she just ain’t my idea of a femme fatale for the guys who were competing for her. Totally out of place and un-believeable. I de-hyped myself before I went, but nonetheless I came away slightly disappointed. Heath was great, but if you think about it, how hard is it to screw up “The Joker?” An Oscar? Surely a nomination, but once again, with no rules a lot of actors could play nutso (they are anyway). Still, go see it. Special effects are great – sets great – I love the fact its a real city and not the cartoonish one Tim Burton gave us.

    Reply
  • 3. cburt  |  July 22, 2008 at 2:04 am

    I can’t wait to take in all that Chicago-ness! AND Christian Bale-ness. mmmmm

    Reply
  • 4. Lowdogg  |  July 22, 2008 at 3:15 am

    Just saw it. Fantastic.

    “I can make this pencil disappear.”

    Reply
  • 5. lemare  |  July 22, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I don’t know what to believe in anymore: http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,388124,00.html

    Christian Bale was arrested for assaulting his mother and sister? I’m pained.

    Reply
  • 6. Lowdogg  |  July 22, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Hold the course LeMare. We know too little of this development to lose heart.

    Reply
  • 7. Sportsattitude  |  July 22, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    A number of folks want to believe Heath Ledger “became” the Joker and it led to his early demise. Perhaps Christian now thinks he really is “Batman” by allegedly battering his family around. As for the “pencil scene,” I have heard some folks are a tad upset at the PG-13 rating. I’ve seen an awful more questionable PG-13’s than this movie…I personally think it is an over-reaction. However, I don’t have children so I’ll leave it to those who do to weigh in on that issue.

    Reply
  • 8. lemare  |  July 22, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    I was just talking to my brother in law and I told him not to bring my nephew. It was pretty dark and the whole “WHY SO SERIOUS” thing was pretty creepy and I had to cover my eyes.

    Apparently he was told to bring his son to Iron Man and the sex scene at the beginning was uncomfortable for him with a 9 year old.

    I think both movies are PG13ers, but people need to stop bringing their younger children. If they were appropriate for younger children, they’d be PG or G.

    Reply
  • 9. Lowdogg  |  July 23, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    Definitely PG-13 for me. The pencil thing was over so fast. Terrifying, but quick.

    I’m with you LeMare. I had a 7 year old next to me and I had to keep from telling the dad to take his kid home.

    Reply
  • 10. Joey  |  July 24, 2008 at 12:15 am

    LeMare, Lauren used to say that whenever she looked at the Chicago skyline, it broke her heart again. That sums it up for me perfectly.

    Reply
  • 11. Bob Skilnik  |  August 26, 2008 at 11:01 am

    “I can make this pencil disappear.”

    A classic line,for sure.

    The thing about the violence? You’ll notice that the blood and gore was never seen, no lingering over a body with a pencil in its head, no blood pouring out of the cop shot by the Joker with a shotgun, no graphic scene when the Joker sliced the big black dude.

    It was all in your head, and that’s what made the film gore acceptable. I’ve seen much worse, much bloodier scenes in a million other movies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,918 hits

