A Study on Physical Attraction

September 17, 2008 at 1:25 pm 8 comments

A close friend of IRF is currently enrolled in a Marriage Preparation class at her university. Her professor assigned the class to bring in a complete stranger they found physically attractive, whereupon all the students and their beautiful strangers would be lectured for fifteen minutes on the topic of attraction.  Our friend sent this missive to her professor as a way to get out of the (some would argue, silly) assignment.  Names have been changed to protect our reasonable coed!

Dear Professor,

I discussed our assignment (to bring a stranger whom we find attractive to class) with my fiance and he, as well as I, was uncomfortable.  My fiance, Benjamin, is the only man that I find myself attracted to.  I find him devastating.  He reminds me of a Viking.  Modern Vikings are in short supply; in fact, there is only one!  I have included his picture to give you an idea of why I find him the most attractive man of all time.

I would be happy to do an alternate assignment, whatever you please.  Perhaps I could write a poem about my Viking’s physical attractiveness, or I could give a very technical description, point-by-point of what makes him so fiercely stunning.

I love your class; it is a highlight in my week.  I think you are an outstanding teacher and three hours has never felt like three minutes in any other circumstance!

Sincerely,

Nimble

No word back from the professor yet.

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , .

The Lamentations of Lowry – Chapter 10: Tyranny of the Minority Biden & Patriotism

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Massimo  |  September 17, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Despite my rather Mediterranean nom de cyber, I am of largely Nordic stock, including several lines of rather hardy Danes, from whom I inherited an unusual patronymic surname, ginger hair, and a ghostly pallor. Somehow, though, I doubt that I am what the friend of IRF considers a Viking.

    By Odin’s raven, that may be why I’m 34 and single. I’ll try to pencil in some pillaging this week. Anyone know where I can get some good mead and a joint of mutton?

    Reply
  • 2. Mikel  |  September 17, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Actually, this same assignment, find an attractive stranger and bring her to class, is how we ended up with Sarah Palin.

    Still mad.

    Go Vikings.

    Reply
  • 3. critts  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    Ridiculous, frivolous assignment.

    Reply
  • 4. JL  |  September 18, 2008 at 10:21 am

    The professor is apparently a big fan of extreme reality shows like Fear Factor, according to our friend. Maybe this is her premise for a new show to pitch to a network?

    Reply
  • 5. lowdogg  |  September 18, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Mikel-
    If McCain wins the election was Palin worth it? I don’t see McCain being nearly as competitive were it not for that pick.

    Reply
  • 6. Pammy Girl  |  September 18, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Lowdogg: I was shocked when inserted an ‘r’ into the word PICK. Shocked but a little smug, too. I giggled.

    I would love to be attracted to a Viking but sadly I find myself attracted to the world’s worst people (and they me). Maybe this class has a way of weeding out the jerks and teaching me to be interested in the mild and boring types with large, stable wallets. Should I consider attending?

    Reply
  • 7. mikel  |  September 18, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Lowdogg,

    Not for me. But my bigger question is this: if McCain wins, is it worth it for republicans?

    While we’re at it, if a tree falls in the woods…

    Reply
  • 8. Sportsattitude  |  September 20, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Obviously, the university in question has received funding from the Fox Network. Next thing you know, the students and their strangers will have to participate in some form of “joint athletic competition”…say Twister?…while their significant others look on with disgust and anger and are eventually restrained Jerry Springer-style from going on-stage after the strangers should they work a little too hard to become “too friendly.” As for this whole Palin deal…if a moose falls in the woods…did she shoot it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,690 hits

