Hong Kong, Day 1

November 23, 2008 at 7:12 pm 10 comments

Greetings from Marriott Renaissance in Kowloon, Hong Kong!  So far so good in my travels.  I know I’ve written about Shigella in Peru and Pot Leaf and Swiss Miss Packet wall-papered common rooms in a Kyoto hostal, but the first 24 hours in Hong Kong have been, actually, quite… well, fantastic!

I am here with my mother, which always lends itself to some interesting quotes…  Some of the best so far:

“Now Remember, when I poke you, you’re supposed to look around for a weird-looking man.”

*”Shoot, I was too far away from you just now to poke you!”

*To the Chinese concierge:  “Are there any restaurants that serve “NORMAL” food?  Without weird stuff in it?”

*At the Cantonese restaurant:  “No wonder everyone here is so thin.”

*At the Cantonese restaurant, after offering her some of my beef:  “No, I’m sort of turned off to the whole idea of meat right now.”

So, my mom and I were leaving the Cantonese restaurant (hungry) and someone handed us a flyer for a 35 minute foot massage for $80 HK Dollars.  Immediately, my sore feet smelled a bargain, so my mother and I followed this woman up this sketchy elevator, down a sketchier hall, and went into even a sketchier room with people getting their feet massaged.  There was a shrine in the corner with red light bulbs and incense.

My mom was claiming she was just keeping me company, but once I mentioned that I would pay for her, her shoes came off and her feet went up on the ottoman.  I stopped caring once the woman started going to town on my swollen feet for $11 US.  Am I too good for a hole in the wall foot massage parlor?  Apparently not.

In the mean time, we’re eating cashews for breakfast.

More to come.

Entry filed under: LeMare's Posts, Travel. Tags: .

A Fatwa on Business Casual! Never Trust a Skinny Chef

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Massimo  |  November 23, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Ah, LeMare, always the jet-setter. You’ll be pleased to know that I’m traveling, too. I’m in glamorous Minneapolis, just a stone’s throw from romantic St. Paul. Why, just outside my window I can see an Applebee’s, a Jamba Juice, and a FedEx-Kinkos. I wonder if any of them do feet.

    Reply
  • 2. JL  |  November 23, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Hong Kong with Lynette, what a treat. Can’t wait to hear more of your adventures.

    Reply
  • 3. Andria  |  November 23, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Ahhh! The Marriott Renaissance in Kowloon! Last year I arrived there after backpacking China for two weeks (read: staying in chep Chinese hotels). It was so nice my husband almost couldn’t get me to leave the room! Have a great time!

    (Oh, and did JL mention I thought your real name was LeMare? I figured you were from Utah. I’ve seen weirder.)

    Reply
  • 4. meredith  |  November 23, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    maret– i just had the pleasure of staying with your wonderful sister kerry a couple nights ago on our way up to NYC and she told me you were on this amazing trip. sounds like SO much fun. keep the great quotes from lynette coming! i love her!

    Reply
  • 5. critts  |  November 23, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    I cherish Lynette quotes! I will never forget “Maret, even a barn looks better painted” while en route to St. Croix. Have fun!

    Reply
  • 6. stephanie  |  November 24, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    I cannot wait to hear more stories! Bring them on!

    Reply
  • 7. TRussell  |  November 24, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Aunt JoEllen was here with Grandpa Dick last night. He picked her up on her layover here in SF and they came over for dinner.

    So speaking of massages, I told her she ought to get a massage while in Lombok. Keep up the encouragement because I am almost positive there will be a great quote from that experience.

    Reply
  • 8. Kerry  |  November 25, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Yes, Mom has some classic quotes! Glad you’re writing them down so they can live on forever. I especially love the story about her taking off her shoes once she found out you were paying — too funny!

    Reply
  • 9. mel  |  November 28, 2008 at 10:21 am

    My favorite lynette quote: “Get on the stick.”

    To your older sister.

    About having kids.

    In public.

    Classic.

    Reply
  • 10. Dicy  |  December 1, 2008 at 12:59 am

    LeMare – how can eat be hard to eat in Hong Kong? There are plenty of pearls to be had for breakfast.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,966 hits

