The Year’s Best Bizarre Compliments

December 30, 2008 at 7:12 pm 7 comments

As we mull over the end of 2008, I can’t help but think of all the lovely things that people have said to me.  Here are the five most bizarre compliments that I have received in 2008, and I encourage you to share yours in the comments section:

“You’re Beautiful!” -From a Uniformed Indonesian Official carrying an M-16.

“You play sport!” -From pedicurist, while massaging my calf, soon after my half marathon.

“Your sister is really good at her job because she can totally disagree with you without coming across as a total B****!” -From a former colleague, as given to my brother, when he randomly met her on the train.

“You’re the best businessman in this family.”  -From my sister

“You have such cute shoes!  Britt–look at these shoes!” -From the TSA official while rifling through my carry-on.

Happy New Year to all!

Entry filed under: LeMare's Posts.

Movie Review: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Guest Post: I don’t normally do this, but…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lowdogg  |  December 31, 2008 at 12:49 am

    The shoe one is my favorite.

    What was the line from Tom Daschle? You can’t professionalize until you federalize.

    Reply
  • 2. Massimo  |  December 31, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    To be called beautiful by a person who has means at his immediate disposal to thin out the population must surely be the sincerest form of flattery.

    Reply
  • 3. lemare  |  January 3, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    It’s true. If you have a hard time taking a compliment, try hanging out near an Indonesian military zone. You’ll learn to say “thank you” really fast!

    Reply
  • 4. lemare  |  January 4, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Let’s add one more bizarre compliment, my first of ’09, from a girl I don’t know very well:

    “I just wanted you to know that I think you’re so cute. Every time I see you, I think that. And you wear cute clothes and say cute things… I asked [so-and-so] if you date much and she didn’t think so, and I just wonder what is wrong with all these guys!”

    Reply
  • 5. LeMare's Sis  |  January 6, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I was told I’m the loudest person at work. Wait, is that a compliment?

    Reply
  • 6. lowdogg  |  January 7, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    That was kind of nice LeMare, maybe bizarre in its honesty, but borne of sincere admiration.

    And I don’t think loudness is necessarily not a compliment.

    Reply
  • 7. Tracy  |  February 11, 2009 at 12:39 am

    I always get, “You look so good for having seven kids!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,690 hits

