Beware Charity

February 7, 2009 at 9:54 pm 6 comments

Consider this a PSA for any charitable hearts out there who may be made to feel sorry for door knockers. The kind that tell you they need to sell magazine subscriptions to pay for college and their fatherless child. The kind that ask for a drink of water and end up taking a Coke Zero.

They may compliment you on your curtains and your cute children, but in the end, you’re out $90 and you only get two weeks, not one year, of US Weekly. Upon calling US Weekly directly, they have no record of your payment for a one-year subscription. When you Google the name of the door-to-door sales company, True Vision, the first result is entitled: Rip-off Report: True Vision Magazine Scam.

So consider yourselves warned. Accept the missionaries of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, but deny the misfits from True Vision. I’ve been punk’d and I probably funded a night of wreckless drug use among single pregnant moms.

Entry filed under: Commentary, JL's Posts.

Happy 98th, The Gipper The Lamentations of Lowry – Chapter 13: InfoWars!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jana  |  February 8, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Can you do a stop-payment on your check? These people have come to my door, and they always ask if someone else has been there (usually of the opposite sex), and act like it’s the Amazing Race. So sorry, JL!

    Reply
  • 2. Angela  |  February 8, 2009 at 8:39 am

    I would say, don’t ever feel obligated to buy something from a total stranger. I’m sorry that happened to you, that stinks!

    Reply
  • 3. lowdogg  |  February 8, 2009 at 9:51 am

    When I was a freshman a girl came to the door of my dorm room at about 10 am. It was not visiting hours and I was so shocked (and still half asleep) that I bought a 2 year subscription to Automobile magazine. I DID receive it though, at least until my mission began 10 months later.

    In my defense she was cute.

    Reply
  • 4. Kerry  |  February 8, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    Oh my gosh, that was so funny! Especially the “but end up taking a Coke Zero” part. And yes, although I don’t typically hand over a check, I always watch them walk away feeling so guilty. I will now continue to watch them walk away, but feeling a little less guilty.

    Reply
  • 5. critts  |  February 10, 2009 at 12:52 am

    I’ve definitely been duped before. In Style never came and they had no record of my order?! And it was through my coworkers daughter’s school fundraiser. Go figure.

    Reply
  • 6. mel  |  February 16, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Next time:
    1. Photoshop and print a fake check. Sign up for like 9 subscriptions, making them think you’ve made their day.

    (or)

    2. Offer to hear them out as long as they sit through the first discussion. I learned this trick from my grandmother who let the J.W. in. (they never came back)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,690 hits

