The Fate of Facebook

February 16, 2009 at 4:36 pm 5 comments

I came late in the game to Facebook, but I have happily enjoyed reconnecting with friends around the globe, cyber-stalking crushes of friends, getting daily mundane updates from everyone, and other forms of entertainment. In short, it’s been a fun six months.

And yet, with all its benefits, I have maintained slight skepticism of the site, especially when my mom – who called to figure out how to turn off her iPod and uses the internet primarily to forward spam emails* about lost children, princes in Uganda needing money and making you money, and religious propaganda – joined a few months ago. But with her participation limited to only a few comments on her children’s walls, I thought little of it.

Until today.

When I got a friend request from Jerry – the iconic 80-year-old stranded-in-the-closet man in my church.

So just as MySpace became the Digital Detroit, I suspect Facebook is slowly but surely turning into the Del Boca Vista of the internet.

 

facebook-aug-07

 

*Okay, so not these emails specifically, but if she could just figure out snopes.com.

Entry filed under: Myrt's Blurts.

The Lamentations of Lowry – Chapter 13: InfoWars! Not Worth Peanuts

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lemare  |  February 16, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Stop throwing snowballs at me, stop asking me to start some mini garden, and for heaven sakes, save the “super poke” for someone who isn’t a lady.

    Reply
  • 2. LeMare's Sis  |  February 17, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    That’s why I never even look at it, unless an email comes saying someone has a specific message to me. But I agree, some of the friend requests I’ve received have caused a painful look on my face as I turn the other way, wincing as I click accept. What is the facebook etiquette as far as accepting “friends.”

    Reply
  • 3. lowdogg  |  February 18, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    I find myself constantly considering unfriending someone.
    This was an NYT piece on the subject:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/29/fashion/29facebook.html?_r=3&pagewanted=1&th&emc=th

    Reply
  • 4. Pammy Girl  |  February 18, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    The lifelong dilemma… who should I accept as my friend. Is it rude to turn people down? I thought it was for a while but when people who I didn’t have the best memories of from high school started requested, I changed my tune. If I can’t remember just one moment of fun and good times between me and whomever is asking, then no way.

    Of course I’ve reconnected with people from days gone by, those who slipped through the cracks after college. But I remember them with fondness. Not so much the high school homecoming queen who only spoke to me when I had to interview her for a newspaper story about her “crowning” achievement. I removed from as a friend after a mere 3 days.

    Reply
  • 5. JL  |  February 18, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Hands down, the dumbest Facebook ploy is when you get a notice saying, “[Kid from your 10th grade homeroom] answered the question, ‘Do you think JL has even stolen anything?’ See his reply.”

    Considering all I presently know about 10th grade homeboy is that he swears a lot in his status updates, I don’t value his opinion in the first place.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,281 hits

