LOL!!!!! IRF 4ever!!!!

February 23, 2009 at 11:30 pm 4 comments

Eric Snider has a great column on the different kinds of comments found on the Internet.

I enjoyed the column, but thought it missed one other category- the one where people comment on posts that are many months old. If it weren’t for the recent comments box on the right of this blog I would even notice some of these, but I find them curious. As a visitor, I would think that seeing a lack of activity for many moons would indicate a lack of interest or even fatigue on the issue (such as Prop 8). Come on people, just because you have freedom of speech doesn’t mean that you have to use it.

Another missed category is the over-enthusiastic mommy/friend blog commenters. These are true comments from a relative’s blog:

oh. my. goodness.
these are sooo fabulous. your sister is so lucky to have you and your budding talent come and visit!

or

I have been stalkin your blog for a while. I think I found it through {redacted} a long time ago. I LOVE your pictures. You do such a great job. Thanks for all the tips. If you ever want to stalk me you can email me, our blog is private. {redacted}@gmail.com

I could post many more. The last one is especially amusing. Let’s reimagine the comment:

Hi. I don’t know you, but I like to look at your blog. Especially the pictures. Of your kids. You don’t know anything about me. We’ve never met. You can’t even see my blog unless you’re invited, so there is no real way to know if you’d even want to see it unless you actually contact me so that I can invite you. And once I’ve invited you I will make you my friend. My forever friend!!

Anyone else read/received some wacky comments?

Entry filed under: Commentary, Irreverence. Tags: , , .

The Lamentations of Lowry – Chapter 14: Demons Among Us Business Time

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lillie  |  February 24, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    I notice you have –ahem— zero comments on this post. Perhaps you’ve scared everyone away by making FUN!

    I’m kidding. I know I know… it’s funny. It’s hard being so popular really…. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. lowdogg  |  February 24, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    My lack of comment popularity may be the price I pay for my art.

    I am in a close tie with about 200 million other people for my low-level of comments.

    Reply
  • 3. Massimo  |  February 24, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    There are, of course, comments Snider doesn’t tolerate, as demonstrated by his memorable diktat of November 7, 2008: “If you didn’t support Obama and are grieving over his election, please keep it to yourself in this thread. Let’s let the rest of us enjoy it.”

    The Commissar will brook no dissent.

    Reply
  • 4. lowdogg  |  February 24, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    That was indeed pretty lame.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,281 hits

