Staying Classy

May 11, 2009 at 2:38 pm 1 comment

On comedian Wanda Sykes stint at the White House Correspondent’s Dinner:

From Deadline Hollywood‘s Nikki Finke:

…I do think her overall performance was inappropriate for the room, and I say that as a liberal Democrat. Sykes herself was prescient when she began her performance with these remarks: “This is truly an honor to be here. It really is. I keep getting asked the same question, ‘Are you nervous? Are you nervous?’ With this administration, what is there to be nervous about? If I do a good job, I get great press. If I screw it up royally, Tim Geithner gives me a bonus.”

Mike Lupica from the New York Post also weighed in.

Isn’t the real issue here one of class? And not upper and lower class, but the class borne of consideration and self-respect.

But we’ve lost that. We’re not even trying, and the media doesn’t care enough to be fair. And society loses.

Entry filed under: Commentary, Current Events, Irreverence. Tags: , .

It just keeps getting better Obama Administration declares war on Cheerios

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. critts  |  May 12, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I have to agree. I saw part of her performance and I have to say I thought a lot of her jokes were completely inappropriate. It’s unfortunate because I do think she can be hilarious in the appropriate setting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

RSS The Heritage Foundation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Daily Universe

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 275,404 hits

